Re: Is this real? Vista free?



Thank you, and yes I agree. First time I heard the phrase, "There is no such
thing as a free lunch". lol I often use "better safe than than sorry", and
"if it looks too good to be true, then it probably is". I decided that even
if this was for "real", and still offering the free new Vista Business and
Office 2007 I would pass it up. I really appreciate your responding to my
call for assistance in evaluating this site and "offer". It is the closest I
ever came to giving up personal information! If it is real, then great for
those who are participating before "supplies ran out", but I still find this
questionable and objectionable. I STILL am unable to find ANYTHING on a
"legitimate" Microsoft Website regarding this 'offer". It seems to me it
would have been in, at the very least, the News Release blog, or Vista Update
blog, both of which are for keeping interested parties fully informed of
upcoming events, and archive past events related to the Vista OS and Office
2007 products and release. Again, thanks for helping reign in my first strong
"urge" to "leap beofore looking' and perhaps lived to deeply regrett it!!
Thanks very much,
--
Seree


"Michael A. Covington" wrote:

The form W-9 may be legitimate, under the circumstances. But "there is no
such thing as a free lunch."

"seree" <seree@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:843F4CC4-B860-46F0-ACA5-9F14551EED52@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Thank you both for responding, it looks like in the time it took to
investigate this offer I missed signing up for the gifts. Darn! When I was
checking out this site it still read "free gifts", not "sorry no more
gifts
available" or whatever wording is being used. So, I am a bit disapointed,
however, I know I did the right thing in checking this out before giving
out
any of my information. Yes, in the offer details it states each
participant
is required to fill out form W9 (Request for taxpayer identification numbr
and certification) which would require a SS#, prior to the second "gift"
being sent to participants. We all know how many scams abound in
attempting
to trick folks into giving out personal information. I am still not sure
how
legitimate this is. I still am unable to find anything about this in any
Vista blog or site. There are plenty of live and on demand webcasts
exactly
like those advertised at this site, at the Microsoft sites, and I have
participated in several already. If this is legitimate, I know I did the
right thing coming here first. Thank you both for your responses, and have
a
great day,

---Seree
seree


"Tom Willett" wrote:

That forum also has a thread that the web site in question now has a
statement that there are no more free gifts available.

"Michael A. Covington" <look@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:e5OAsCPFHHA.1248@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
|I have no direct knowledge, but it is being discussed (at great length)
| here:
|
|
http://www.fatwallet.com/forums/messageview.php?start=700&catid=18&threadid=677013
|
| I don't know what they say about an Internal Revenue form, but DO NOT
GIVE
| YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER TO A STRANGER. If there's a tax form,
print
it
| out and *mail* it to the IRS.
|
| "seree" <seree@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
| news:6A3E5AC2-5059-4C76-B0DD-1E264A9A161D@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
| >I read on a website supposidly hosted for Microsoft by a company
called
| > "Ascentium" that if we register we can receive free licsenced version
of
| > Vista Business and Office 2007 if we then take three webcasts per
offer
| > and
| > sign up with a Internal Revenue Tax statement to pay gift taxes on
these.
| > Is
| > this for real? If it is I want to participate, but I can't find any
| > reference
| > to this on the Vista Blogs, even in the Press Releases or the Newest
| > postings
| > on the Microsoft Vista blogs. Anybody here know anything about this
and
is
| > it
| > ligitimate? If it is WoW!! But, I am thinking if it sounds too good
to
be
| > true, then it probably is. The site has a certificate authorized by
two
| > Microsoft authorizing stations and a Root Authority too, and while
there
| > is
| > nothing seemingly wrong with the certificates IE7 shows a yellow
icon,
| > while
| > stating they are OK. Please let me know if this is for real as I want
to
| > get
| > started on these webcasts if it is and get my free copies. Probably
too
| > good
| > to be true! Bummer! Here is the website to this "offer" please check
it
| > out
| > and let me know what you experts think. http://www.powertogether.com
| >
| > Thanks very much for you attention to this,
| > --
| > Seree
|
|






.



Relevant Pages

  • Re: Is this real? Vista free?
    ... investigate this offer I missed signing up for the gifts. ... like those advertised at this site, at the Microsoft sites, and I have ... statement that there are no more free gifts available. ... |> to this on the Vista Blogs, even in the Press Releases or the Newest ...
    (microsoft.public.windowsxp.security_admin)
  • Re: Is this real? Vista free?
    ... The form W-9 may be legitimate, ... investigate this offer I missed signing up for the gifts. ... like those advertised at this site, at the Microsoft sites, and I have ... |> Microsoft authorizing stations and a Root Authority too, ...
    (microsoft.public.windowsxp.security_admin)
  • Re: For all the theorists about MS support for XP going forward
    ... class action lawsuit against Microsoft in the matter of a 'Duty of Care' ... ..bat endings - Bill's gift to the malware writing community). ... There are other similar 'gifts', but that particular one (in an OS ... OS would simply be 'The Icing on The Cake' to further condemn Microsoft ...
    (uk.comp.homebuilt)
  • Re: Microsoft Canada email - Gifts that Click
    ... this appears to be a legitimate ad campaign by Microsoft Canada--with ... > Gifts that Click. ...
    (microsoft.public.security)