Re: Cheap Software, Help Please
- From: "Elendil" <elendil.faithful@xxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Fri, 26 May 2006 12:39:02 -0400
I fully agree with Malke, there's no place where you can download a VALID
Windows Operating system without paying the normal price. Trying to beat the
system and download a cheaper Windows OS will only result in relinquishment.
"Malke" <notreally@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:OG$2h7LgGHA.5088@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Stew M wrote:
This site
http://otk.fragaware.com/
sells software at a resonable price and seemed legit. I purchased XP
Pro SP2. It is cheaper because you download the sotware, no packaging
etc. good idea really.
BUT when downloaded in their instructions their is this message about
getting updates.
HOW TO GET UPDATES FOR "MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP":
You will need 'Windows.XP.Pro.License.Activator.exe' file which has
been added to your account with 'MS Windows XP'
Please follow the instruction below:
1. Save this file to your hard drive and run it
2. Reboot your computer twice.
3. On second reboot all notifications should disappear. Please choose
'Custom' update when visiting Windows Updates page and do not download
'Windows Genuine Notification'. This new tool from MS does not often
work fine with OEM licenses. All other updates should download and
install fine.
With that it is iffy!!
I'm correct arent I?
From the look of the site and everything else in regards to accepting
payments I thought it was legit. Also with the price not being too
cheap or expensive.
You got taken. That site is full of spelling errors. Here's the lookup
from www.samspade.org:
otk.fragaware.com = [ 193.93.236.3 ]
PacNames Whois Server Version 1.1.0
Domain name: FRAGAWARE.COM
Registrar: PacNames
Referral URL: http://www.pacnames.com/
Domain Registrant: TOTALNIC-127503 XSALSA@xxxxxxx
Alex Rodrigez
Alex Rodrigez
PO box 109 WP 1432
Lappeenranta NA 53101
FI
Telephone: 358.207818027
Fax: 358.207818027
Administrative Technical Contact: TOTALNIC-127503 XSALSA@xxxxxxx
Alex Rodrigez
Alex Rodrigez
PO box 109 WP 1432
Lappeenranta NA 53101
FI
Telephone: 358.207818027
Fax: 358.207818027
Name Server: NS1.VTUMANE.COM
Name Server: NS2.VTUMANE.COM
Domain creation date: 2006-05-19 10: 24: 27.0
Domain expiration date: 2007-05-19 10: 57: 07.0
Lappeenranta is in Finland and their IP address is apparently listed on
various spam blackhole lists, too.
You can't download the XP operating system legally from anywhere. Next
time go to the store or buy from a reputable vendor online such as
Amazon, NewEgg, etc.
Piracy - http://www.microsoft.com/resources/howtotell/ww/default.mspx
Piracy Basics - Microsoft Product Activation -
http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/basics/activation/
Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User
.
- References:
- Re: Cheap Software, Help Please
- From: Malke
- Re: Cheap Software, Help Please
- Prev by Date: Re: Hard drive restriction despite being sys admin
- Next by Date: Re: Control Panel - Administrative Tools, Network Connections responding one time only
- Previous by thread: Re: Cheap Software, Help Please
- Next by thread: Re: Cheap Software, Help Please
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|
|