Re: windows.patch
From: Rosanne (93g2aah02_at_REMOVEsneakemail.com)
Date: 04/18/04
- Next message: Chuck: "SMTP"
- Previous message: kozaki: "Re: virus named AdClicker-O.dr"
- In reply to: htuffin: "windows.patch"
- Next in thread: Bruce Chambers: "Re: windows.patch"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Sun, 18 Apr 2004 18:08:03 GMT
In article <09e101c4256d$024fe570$a301280a@phx.gbl>,
anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com says...
> Hi other users - recently had a message asking me to
> immediately click to www.windows.patch.info - never seen
> this before - is this genuine?
>
No.
Always go through the Windows Update site to see what you need to
download. If you've got Microsoft Office products (Word, Access, Excel,
etc), make sure you visit the Office Update site after you're done with
the Windows Update site (there's a link from one to the other).
You can always set your machine to automatically download and install
the Critical Updates, if you'd rather not be bothered with it.
Never believe stuff like this sent through email. If you can visualize
a message that looks authoritative, and that you'd believe, I (or
anybody else!) can send you one that looks just exactly like that,
leading somewhere you don't want to go. And DEFINITELY don't believe
Messenger popups. In fact, if you're getting them, it indicates a
weakness in your security procedures. You weren't clear on where you
were getting the "message" from - email or messenger service.
You can always go straight to the horse's mouth (the MS website) to
check these things out.
~ Rosanne
- Next message: Chuck: "SMTP"
- Previous message: kozaki: "Re: virus named AdClicker-O.dr"
- In reply to: htuffin: "windows.patch"
- Next in thread: Bruce Chambers: "Re: windows.patch"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|