Is This Warning Legitimate?
From: Gail (anonymous_at_discussions.microsoft.com)
Date: 03/11/04
- Next message: Doug Knox MS-MVP: "Re: Is This Warning Legitimate?"
- Previous message: greenman: "Virus variant"
- Next in thread: Doug Knox MS-MVP: "Re: Is This Warning Legitimate?"
- Reply: Doug Knox MS-MVP: "Re: Is This Warning Legitimate?"
- Reply: Bruce Chambers: "Re: Is This Warning Legitimate?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Wed, 10 Mar 2004 18:00:10 -0800
I would like to know if this warning is actually from
Microsoft. I would also like to know how to contact
Mircosoft in the future to find out if such information
is legitimate.
I received a dialog box with this in the tital bar:
"Warning: Important Message!!! Microsoft Internet
Explorer
The message read:
Warning. Important Message!!!
You are seeing this message, because we have detected
that you have tracking software installed in your
machine. (more info)
This is not a virus, but a program in your machine that
monitors and transmits all of your online activities, and
is a serious violation of
your privacy.
Below is a link to a free scanner to download that will
find and remove all spyware programs on your machine:
Get the scanner
- Next message: Doug Knox MS-MVP: "Re: Is This Warning Legitimate?"
- Previous message: greenman: "Virus variant"
- Next in thread: Doug Knox MS-MVP: "Re: Is This Warning Legitimate?"
- Reply: Doug Knox MS-MVP: "Re: Is This Warning Legitimate?"
- Reply: Bruce Chambers: "Re: Is This Warning Legitimate?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|