Re: Internet Security Update spoof

From: Bruce Chambers (bchambers_at_nospam.cableone.net)
Date: 09/09/03


Date: Mon, 8 Sep 2003 21:31:19 -0600


Greetings --

   What you received is either a very common malicious hoax or the
output of a computer infected by one of several wide-spread, mass
emailing worms. The two most widely-known are:

W32.Gibe_mm
http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.gibe@mm.html

W32.Dumaru_mm
http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.dumaru@mm.html

   Microsoft never has, does not currently, and never will email
unsolicited security patches. At the most, if, and only if, you
subscribe to their security notification newsletter, they will send
you an email informing you that a new patch is available for
downloading.

Microsoft Policies on Software Distribution
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/treeview/?url=/technet/security/policy/swdist.asp

Information on Bogus Microsoft Security Bulletin Emails
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/treeview/default.asp?url=/technet/security/news/patch_hoax.asp

    Any and all legitimate patches and updates are readily available
at http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/. (Notice that this is the true
URL, rather than the bogus one that may have been contained in the
email you received.) Any messages that point to any other source(s) or
claim to have the patch attached are bogus.

Bruce Chambers

--
Help us help you:
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
You can have peace.  Or you can have freedom.  Don't ever count on
having both at once. -- RAH
"donlee" <donmcanally@msn.com> wrote in message
news:4eae01c3767a$40252650$a501280a@phx.gbl...
> I received a 'almost legitimate' email entitled 'Internet
> Security Update' from 'Microsoft' with 2 attachments. One
> was titled 'antyvirinfo .txt' and the other
> was 'Update403_exe.dat'.  The paragraph with them called
> this the Sept.'03 cumulative patch and has nice blue box
> fields with instructions, etc. The properties box From:
> field said '"Microsoft" and then <a bunch of polish
> looking characters>.  This really looks like spoof to
> breach security attempt.?? Is this legitimate? Has anyone
> seen it?              donlee


Relevant Pages


Loading