Re: Volume Shadow Copy
From: Herb Martin (news_at_LearnQuick.com)
Date: Sat, 7 May 2005 07:02:04 -0500
"Jeffrey L" <firstname.lastname@example.org> wrote in message
> Several users involved in billing are connected to share for BillingData.
> Only one of these users should have the authority to restore a previous
> version (such as an admin.)
Then those 'other users' should not have the authority to
WRITE to the main file or shouldn't even have the authority
to READ that file (make copies.)
Notice that shadow copy is NOT the problem here, but rather
the permissions given to the users is the real issue.
If they choose to make their "own" backup of a readable
file today, you could not stop them. If they choose to over-write
a WRITABLE file tomorrow from that backup -- for even
from some junk -- you could not stop them.
You have a permission problem, not a shadow copy
-- Herb Martin, MCSE, MVP Accelerated MCSE http://www.LearnQuick.Com [phone number on web site] > > "Herb Martin" <news@LearnQuick.com> wrote in message > news:Ov6jDemUFHA.email@example.com... > >> "Jeffrey L" <firstname.lastname@example.org> wrote in message > >> news:ubxU60lUFHA.3572@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl... > >> > Is there a way to limit some users of rolling back to a previous > > version? > >> > Although the users have access to the shared drive, we just don't want > >> > them to have the option of restoring a previous version. > > > > "Steven L Umbach" <email@example.com> wrote in message > > news:exqR6BmUFHA.1044@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl... > >> Rollback what?? If you mean they are accessing a share on a Windows 2003 > >> Server that has Volume Shadow Copy I don't know of a way to selectively > >> prevent users from using it unless you do not install the client on there > >> Windows 2000/XP Pro computers. --- Steve > > > > > > Steven is correct -- that is the main point of Shadow Copy > > so you either disable it or you don't give the client software > > to the users. > > > > Why every would you want people not to be able to recover > > a file? > > > > If they are recovering "other people's files" then that should be > > dealt with through permissions. > > > > A user must have READ on the original to copy the shadow > > version, and Modify/Change on the original to overwrite it. > > > > Since each person almost always has this on their own files, > > they are going to be able to recover those file that belong to > > them, and any others that meet these requirements. > > > > -- > > Herb Martin, MCSE, MVP > > Accelerated MCSE > > http://www.LearnQuick.Com > > [phone number on web site] > > > > > >