Re: Appears to be a spyware/malware website that shreds your files

From: Steven L Umbach (n9rou_at_nospam-comcast.net)
Date: 01/29/05


Date: Fri, 28 Jan 2005 19:26:16 -0600

About all you can do is to let the download site know what your experience
was with some good detail. I would also contact the publisher to ask them
what is up. I believe most the major download sites let users post ratings
and reviews of downloads that you have tried which would be a good idea to
do in your case to let others know what your experience was.. --- Steve

"Bradley1234" <someone@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:4nyKd.161$HC.52@trnddc02...
> http://www.realconvert.com/
>
> I downloaded their media fixer and #1 media pro. The one has been on
> zdnet
> for almost one month, the other released a few days ago.
>
> The # of downloads is suspicious, how much call is there for media repair
> software? If there was, wouldnt there even be one other company doing
> this?
>
> So the download installs and then asks for payment saying the trial
> version
> doesnt work, or work very well. I clicked close and it was running, I
> picked an mpeg file that was apparently damaged, for it to fix. It
> shredded
> the file.
>
> I double and triple checked and tried again, carefully noting the
> settings.
> It shows a progress bar, numbers changing fast in a box thing, then it
> finishes. No status display to indicate what was fixed, no storing in a
> temp file to revert back. It shreds the files.
>
> But I dont know to whom to report this? Ive written both zdnet and cnet
> but
> dont know if that does anything at all. Is there some official website(s)
> to report such suspected malware? The site does not appear to have any
> "company history" or say something like the person likes to write files,
> go
> hiking and thanks for any donations, its like they make lots of download
> files to destroy your computer
>
> thanks for any assistance
>
>