Re: Windows Messanger Security/Spam Alert
From: Jonathan (jm4498_at_msn.com)
Date: 05/30/03
- Next message: Will Scoggins: "computer denied access to shared drive"
- Previous message: Alex: "Windows Messanger Security/Spam Alert"
- In reply to: Alex: "Windows Messanger Security/Spam Alert"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Fri, 30 May 2003 17:59:42 -0400
Alex,
Another form of spam is posting the following to newsgroups:
Repeated messages
Useless information
Messages that have nothing to do with the subject manner
I think you can figure out the rest...
-- --Jonathan http://www.imbored.biz - A Windows Server 2003 visual, step-by-step tutorial site :-) Replies by Email will not be read and will be deleted on the spot. Unless I ask you to Email me, please do not. Reply by newsgroup only, please. "Alex" <kd107@msn.com> wrote in message news:uMQ5UXvJDHA.2152@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl... > Windows Messanger Security/Spam Alert > (Attention Microsoft administration) > > MESSAGEHAMMER.NET is sending spam via windows messanger (meaning messanger > for alerter service, > > not MSN/Win messanger). The spam is in a form of a system window pop-up. It > advertises "message > > hammer" software that promises to block messanger service. > > Blocking messanger service could be acomplished manually via administrative > tools/services >> > > disable "messanger"... Or just buy a firewall to keep out the freaks. > > Look below for the spam message, and whois lookup. You are encauraged to > contact the hosting > > company and report spam. In fact, I do not have much experience in this, so > I limit my actions by > > just posting this message to security related message boards. > > Please contact TechTV, tech news, call for help, etc.. Hopefully if enough > people contact them, > > we'll see soon Leo issuing an advisory against this message hammer. > > DoS and domain hijacking attacks against messagehammer.net are encauraged. > Also, Canada residents > > call the phone number (listed below) during the night hours, etc... > > Thank you, > > > Alex > > > > > Here is the spam message from event viewer: > ----------------------------------------------------------------- > Event Type: Information > Event Source: Application Popup > Event Category: None > Event ID: 26 > Date: 5/30/2003 > Time: 16:45:02 > User: N/A > Computer: NT2 > Description: > Application popup: Messenger Service : Message from MessageHammer to You on > 5/30/2003 16:45:02 > > ################# Microsoft HATES YOU ################# > > Why else would they build a system for delivering pop-ups DIRECTLY INTO > YOUR OPERATING SYSTEM? No spyware, virus or annoying webpage is needed to > put these big grey boxes right in the middle of your screen. Nice huh. > > We hate those thing also so we created software to disable this 'feature' > and prevent you from getting another pop-up EVER AGAIN. It is simple to use > and will save you from those weightloss and porn pop-ups everyone else gets. > > Give us a shot...we guarantee to end your pop-up hell FOREVER. > > www.MessageHammer.net > > It's Hammer Time > ----------------------------------------------------------------- > > Here is WHOIS lookup: > ----------------------------------------------------------------- > whois record for: messagehammer.net > > Current Registrar: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC. > Click here if this is your domain and you would like to switch registrars. > > registrar: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC. > whois: whois.wildwestdomains.com > referrer: http://www.wildwestdomains.com > Nameservers: > GOLD1.ZID.COM > DNS2.ZID.COM > status: ACTIVE > expires: 20-may-2004 > > Registrant: > Message Hammer > 636 Younge St. > Toronto, Ontario W3D 2U5 > Canada > > Registered through: Cheap Domain Registration > Domain Name: MESSAGEHAMMER.NET > Created on: 20-May-03 > Expires on: 20-May-04 > Last Updated on: 28-May-03 > > Administrative Contact: > Hammer, Message messagehammer@yahoo.com > 636 Younge St. > Toronto, Ontario W3D 2U5 > Canada > (514) 443-5488 Fax -- > Technical Contact: > Hammer, Message messagehammer@yahoo.com > 636 Younge St. > Toronto, Ontario W3D 2U5 > Canada > (514) 443-5488 Fax -- > > Domain servers in listed order: > GOLD1.ZID.COM > DNS2.ZID.COM > ----------------------------------------------------------------- > ----------------------------------------------------------------- > > > >
- Next message: Will Scoggins: "computer denied access to shared drive"
- Previous message: Alex: "Windows Messanger Security/Spam Alert"
- In reply to: Alex: "Windows Messanger Security/Spam Alert"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|
|