Re: akamaitechnologies.com
From: DerekM (derekm@tomsofmaine.com-no)
Date: 06/04/02
- Next message: DaveS: "Security rollup 1"
- Previous message: David Cur.: "Faking administrators accounts?"
- In reply to: DerekM: "akamaitechnologies.com"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
From: "DerekM" <derekm@tomsofmaine.com-no spam> Date: Tue, 4 Jun 2002 17:06:02 -0400
After a few minutes searching I answered my own post:
Akamai provides 1000s of cache servers to prevent DOS attacks and improve
software delivery. They use a DNS trick to point clients tothe closest
server run by Akamai that holds the content.
AV apps and Yahoo are several of the commercial users.
D.
"DerekM" <derekm@tomsofmaine.com-no spam> wrote in message
news:eytd2mADCHA.2672@tkmsftngp05...
> In our firewall logs I notice a lot of workstations pulling data from
> addresses like: 216-204-34-248.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com
>
> Does anyone recognize this host? Our users are not permitted to install
> applications per GPOs, but somehow I still see a lot of traffic to this
> site.
>
> Any help would be greatly appreciated.
>
> D.
>
>
- Next message: DaveS: "Security rollup 1"
- Previous message: David Cur.: "Faking administrators accounts?"
- In reply to: DerekM: "akamaitechnologies.com"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]