Re: I receive the same email from "Microsoft Customer Support" ev
- From: emmanuel <emmanuel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Sat, 17 Nov 2007 17:16:00 -0800
Yeah I just got the message. Im going to delete it, but if a MS CS person
reads this can you tell us what is going on ?
"Frank Saunders MS-MVP IE,OE/WM" wrote:
"smith" <@discussion.com> wrote in message.
news:%23YU6AWSIIHA.3636@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Hi, there, I receive the same email with the same subject of "reset your
windows live password" every day in my inbox,
Is it really an email from "microsoft windows ", if not and it contains
dangerous links, how can I report to microsoft? Below is the content of
the email. by the way, I have clicked the first link (looks like HTTPS),
and it told me to input my hotmail account, and nothing happened.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reset your Windows Live password?
From: Microsoft Customer Support (postmaster@xxxxxxxx)
We received your request to reset your Windows Live password. To confirm
your request and reset your password, follow the instructions below.
Confirming your request helps prevent unauthorized access to your account.
If you didn't request that your password be reset, please follow the
instructions below to cancel your request.
CONFIRM REQUEST AND RESET PASSWORD
1. Copy the following web address:
https://accountservices.msn.com/EmailPage.srf?emailid=173da33fa92efa75&ed=B3D6VIHpZPJcFHPMt2PKiKSB7fSBlMFOTahOsj5oPKH%2BeUzi6Kjkhc0vjklArW60RmaKTno%3D&lc=1033&urlnum=0
IMPORTANT: Because fraudulent ("phishing") e-mail often uses misleading
links, Microsoft recommends that you do not click links in e-mail, but
instead copy and paste them into your browsers, as described above.
2. Open your web browser, paste the link in the address bar, and then
press ENTER.
3. Follow the instructions on the web page that opens.
CANCEL PASSWORD RESET
1. Copy the following web address.
https://accountservices.msn.com/EmailPage.srf?emailid=173da33fa92efa75&ed=B3D6VIHpZPJcFHPMt2PKiKSB7fSBlMFOTahOsj5oPKH%2BeUzi6Kjkhc0vjklArW60RmaKTno%3D&lc=1033&urlnum=1
IMPORTANT: Because fraudulent ("phishing") e-mail often uses misleading
links, Microsoft recommends that you do not click links in e-mail, but
instead copy and paste them into your browsers, as described above.
2. Open your web browser, paste the link in the address bar, and then
press ENTER.
3. Follow the instructions on the web page that opens.
OTHER INFORMATION
Windows Live is committed to protecting your privacy. We encourage you to
review our privacy statement Privacy Statement at
http://g.msn.com/2privacy/enus.
For more information, go to the Windows Live Account site at
https://account.live.com.
Thank you,
Microsoft Customer Support
NOTE: Please do not reply to this message, which was sent from an
unmonitored e-mail address. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.
--
Thank you for your help!
It is not really from Microsoft. It wants you to help whoever it is steal
your Passport (Windows Live ID).
--
Frank Saunders MS-MVP IE,OE/WM
www.fjsmjs.com
Do not send email
- References:
- Re: I receive the same email from "Microsoft Customer Support" every day!
- From: Frank Saunders MS-MVP IE,OE/WM
- Re: I receive the same email from "Microsoft Customer Support" every day!
- Prev by Date: Re: 802.1x Authentication over Wireless
- Next by Date: Re: security of stored passwords, especially in IE
- Previous by thread: Re: I receive the same email from "Microsoft Customer Support" every day!
- Next by thread: Re: Digitally signing GIFs, JPEGs, etc.
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|