Re: legit?

SUBJECT: legit? Options .....
On Jul 10, 10:16 am, Mike <M...@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
I set up a new Dell Optiplex 745 for our webmaster and installed both Visual
Studio 2003 & 2005. She had run the the Windows update site but when she
went out to but the page ended up going ran spybot search & destroy and it found and
deleted a cookie which seems to have fixed it but has anyone else run into
this same problem? The computer runs very fast.

Bulletins: Fake Security MalwareAlarm.Com Website Downloads Rogue
Application .....

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:50 pm Post subject: Bulletins: Fake
Security MalwareAlarm.Com Website Rogue App


Bulletins: Fake Security MalwareAlarm.Com Website Downloads Rogue

Fake Security Website Downloads Rogue Application
by Trend Micro on 4/23/2007 9:56 PM
Read more | Open in browser

TrendLabs | Anti-Malware Blog - by Trend Micro all headlines

We've just spotted another "security website" that offers to aid
in getting rid of spyware
plaguing their systems. In reality however, this website does nothing
but trick the user into installing
an adware application into their system.

Although the website doesn't automatically download the rogue
application, it does a fairly good job of tricking the user to
download for themselves.

Similar to the numerous ZLOB-carrying codec websites that
during 2006, this one plays on the unsuspecting user's gullibility
regarding security applications. Click on any of the download links
and the file malwarealarmsetup.exe is downloaded on your system. When
this file is executed, it displays the usual dialog boxes being used
by the usual installation package for legitimate applications, even
displaying the standard EULA text.


An appropriate solution for this threat is already underway and it is
to be detected as ADW_SPYSHERIF.BG. As a word of caution, do not
download or install anything that this website offers.

Mail List: spy-le...@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subscribe: spy-lerts-subscr...@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Unsubscribe: spy-lerts-unsubscr...@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
List Owner: postmas...@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
List Information:
SPF Protected (Sender Authentication)
*****Moderated List, Internal Anti-Virus Protected*****
*****BlueCollarPCNet Forum Owner*****