Re: How do I get rid of an aggressive/relentless pop-up?
- From: "POP" <nobody@xxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Sun, 31 Dec 2006 15:45:39 -0500
....
: | it may be a legitimate site, and this
may explain why it is not being
: | recognised as rogue or malicious. This
has made me wonder if I, or someone
: | else in my family, has inadvertantly
accepted something that they shouldn't
: | have. But even if that is the case, the
demand for payment is highly
: | abnormal. Whenever I have purchased
anything on-line I am required to
: | immediately submit my credit card
details before I receive any item. This
: | one, however, claims that I already have
the item "sexxxpassport" whatever
: | that is, and now I am due to make
payment. I have never encountered a...
....
Yes, it is a legit site in the sense that
it's real. But that's as far as their
legitimacy seems to go. I did a little
research and they definitely appear to be
flying below the radar in several areas of
ethical and scrupolous operations. IMO they
look like the extortionists you actually
describe them to be.
Their MO isn't all that new; these things
depend on people paying the fees to avoid
embarassment and the hassles. They aren't
legitimate or they wouldn't be trespassing
your system the way they're doing.
Personally, I would look into who to
report them to (oftel?) and see if they've
broken any laws, but I don't know how easy
that is to do in the UK.
If you feel the need to pursue the
matter, my advice would be don't. Let them
float away like the rubbish they are. That
is, as long as you're certain no one in your
house signed up for an anything. Even if
you think they might have, insist of proof
before you pay them anything. They won't
have the proof most likely and without it,
of course ... .
Here's their whois info:
Location: United Kingdom [City: Nottingham,
England]
ARIN says that this IP belongs to RIPE; I'm
looking it up there.
Using 0 day old cached answer (or, you can
get fresh results).
Hiding E-mail address (you can get results
with the E-mail address).
% This is the RIPE Whois query server #2.
% The objects are in RPSL format.
%
% Note: the default output of the RIPE Whois
server
% is changed. Your tools may need to be
adjusted. See
%
http://www.ripe.net/db/news/abuse-proposal-20050331.html
% for more details.
%
% Rights restricted by copyright.
% See http://www.ripe.net/db/copyright.html
% Information related to '85.189.3.0 -
85.189.6.255'
inetnum: 85.189.3.0 - 85.189.6.255
netname: GIS-MB-GRIFFIN
descr: Griffin Internet ADSL Managed
Broadband ADSL Assignment
country: GB
admin-c: AS5493-RIPE
tech-c: GNOC1
status: ASSIGNED PA
mnt-by: GRIFFIN-NOC
changed: ******@griffin.com 20050419
source: RIPE
role: Griffin Internet Contact
Role
address: 20 St Christophers Way
address: Pride Park
address: DE24 8JY
phone: +44 870 804 0804
admin-c: AS5493-RIPE
tech-c: GC1258-RIPE
e-mail: ***@griffin.com
remarks:
/*****************************************************
remarks: * Griffin Internet has an
open peering policy and are
remarks: * located at LINX, MaNAP and
eXchange Point
remarks: * Telephone: +44 870 804
0804
remarks: * Fax: +44 870 804 0805
remarks: * Peering requests to:
*******@griffin.com
remarks: * Abuse reports to:
*****@griffin.com
remarks: * Website :
http://www.griffin.com
remarks:
*/****************************************************
nic-hdl: GNOC1
mnt-by: GRIFFIN-NOC
source: RIPE
abuse-mailbox: *****@griffin.com
changed: ******@griffin.com 20050527
person: Adrian Sunderland
address: Griffin Internet
address: Sidney Robinson Business Park
address: Ascot Drive
address: Derby DE24 8EH
address: United Kingdom
phone: +44 870 000 7100
fax-no: +44 870 000 7101
e-mail: ******@griffin.com
nic-hdl: AS5493-RIPE
mnt-by: GRIFFIN-NOC
changed: ******@griffin.com 20040315
source: RIPE
% Information related to
'85.189.0.0/16AS20500'
route: 85.189.0.0/16
descr: GRIFFIN-UK-AGGREGATE
origin: AS20500
mnt-by: GRIFFIN-NOC
changed: ******@griffin.com 20041207
source: RIPE
[The following lines added by
www.dnsstuff.com per requirement by RIPE]
This service is subject to the terms and
conditions stated in the RIPE NCC Database
Copyright Notice.
Contact dnsstuff.com's 'info2@' address to
report problems regarding the functionality
of the service.
.
- References:
- Re: How do I get rid of an aggressive/relentless pop-up?
- From: David H. Lipman
- Re: How do I get rid of an aggressive/relentless pop-up?
- From: David H. Lipman
- Re: How do I get rid of an aggressive/relentless pop-up?
- From: alister28
- Re: How do I get rid of an aggressive/relentless pop-up?
- From: David H. Lipman
- Re: How do I get rid of an aggressive/relentless pop-up?
- From: alister28
- Re: How do I get rid of an aggressive/relentless pop-up?
- From: David H. Lipman
- Re: How do I get rid of an aggressive/relentless pop-up?
- Prev by Date: Re: Windows Vista and TPM Services
- Next by Date: Re: what are firewalls for?
- Previous by thread: Re: How do I get rid of an aggressive/relentless pop-up?
- Next by thread: Re: How do I get rid of an aggressive/relentless pop-up?
- Index(es):