Re: "Phishing" or Genuine MS Update??
- From: "BoaterDave" <BoaterDave@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Tue, 14 Mar 2006 17:30:46 -0000
Hello PopS
I'm certainly not misdirecting you - but I do understand your reticence to
follow my suggestion.
The reason I was in touch with our High-Tech Crime Unit was because I had
had my identity stolen last year and a payment made by PayPal in connection
with a fraudulent eBay transaction. I did get my £245 back eventually
though!
You can go to the Belarc web site without fear and read about it there. In
summary, it will tell you all about your own PC
and what programmes are installed on it - and also tell you which MS Updates
are already on your PC and also advise you if any are missing.
You will just have to trust me on this - I really am one of the "good guys"!
HTH
David B.
PS I'd include a picture, but I've been advised that MS do not like us
to do so - sorry!
PPS Others here, though, are extremely helpful if you feel you have been
bitten by some form of "malware"
"PopS" <nobody@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:OcmIIc4RGHA.4792@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
"BoaterDave" <BoaterDave@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:uCR85C4RGHA.4920@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Hi - please note that I am not a MVP or a guru - just someone who has
"learnt the hard way", so to speak!
During my own fight with "malware" a detective here in the UK referred me
to the Belarc Advisor.
If you can trust me (you can!) this link will take you there
http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
Once you have downloaded the free programme, it will tell you what you
need to know in just a few moments.
I hope this is of help.
David B.
"nUooL" <nUooL@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:21AED70C-E537-42BF-A81E-3833BB4B0E29@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Hi All
When launching IE recently, I was not directed to my Home page as I
usually
am, but rather to a Microsoft Updates page - or so I believed, as I had
not
been online for a while and presumed this might have had something to do
with
Automatic Updates, which I always have enabled. I had not, however,
changed
my home page.
I followed the download instructions and I believe there were three; a
validation tool, an update for Windows Media Player 10 and I can't
recall the
third. One of the downloads appeared to fail and the other two I think
were
successful. Before proceeding with the downloads, I did, however, think
to
check that the info in the address bar did 'appear' to be a Microsoft
address.
I've heard some Phishing schemes may attempt to redirect one's browser
to a
supposed Microsoft site and am concerned this may have been the case on
this
occasion.
My questions are:-
* Where/how can I view my genuine Microsoft download history?
* Can the Microsoft Updates process occur as above at startup, by way of
browser redirection?
* What would be a suggested course of action should I discover I have,
in
fact, fallen pray to a Phishing scheme or other similar security
violation?
Any suggestions and assistance is much appreciated!
Cheers,
nUooL
It WILL!? Such as? Not very useful here, especially for an admitted
newbie?
Curious as to what I'm missing or whether you're misdirecting.
Regards,
Pop
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Ooops!
- From: BoaterDave
- Ooops!
- Prev by Date: Convert Group Policy to Template
- Next by Date: Ooops!
- Previous by thread: Convert Group Policy to Template
- Next by thread: Ooops!
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|