Re: connecting to storage.msn.com=spyware?
From: S. Pidgorny
Date: 10/24/05
- Next message: WinSecu: "Re: Security policy / ACL"
- Previous message: Roger Abell [MVP]: "Re: Where is Yahoo address book spam filter?"
- In reply to: Donna Buenaventura [MVP]: "Re: connecting to storage.msn.com=spyware?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Mon, 24 Oct 2005 19:58:17 +1000
I've just conducted an experiment. I've searched Web for "storage.msn.com"
(using MSN Search) and got exactly one search result. When I tried to access
the result, I got a legitimate Passport login prompt from the system.
Might be legit, called by something like embedded picture or so.
-- Svyatoslav Pidgorny, MS MVP - Security, MCSE -= F1 is the key =- "Donna Buenaventura [MVP]" <dbuenaventura@mvps.org> wrote in message news:uCInpcE2FHA.4032@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl... > Hi, > You can verify whether you got spyware by running an antispyware scanner, > get Microsoft AntiSpyware from http://www.microsoft.com/spyware > Update the program after installation then run a full system scan. You > should also use run a scan using your uptodate antivirus. Not all antivirus > can detect trojans. You might want to run anti-trojan scanner (e.g. ewido by > http://www.ewido.net or a-squared by http://www.emsisoft.com) > > Verify that the Messenger Service is disabled. Start>Run>type SERVICES.MSC > then hit OK. Look for Messenger Service in the list of services and verify > that it is disabled. Note: The Messenger Service is not the instant > messenger application's MSN Messenger, Windows Messenger, Yahoo Messenger, > AOL Instant Messenger etc. > > If you are using the service of MSN Storage, try to sign-in into your MSN > account then look for any settings that you can adjust to stop it from > automatically signing-in. > > Regards, > Donna Buenaventura > > "agasuka" <agasuka@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message > news:4AC9D520-A13E-4DDA-9C52-2896AF7910C4@microsoft.com... > Recently a net passport sign in box titled "connecting to storage.msn.com" > keeps poping up. It looks exactly like a msn messenger sign in box. > > I suspect it to be a fake net passport sign in, because I looked up on the > internet (including microsoft.com and msn.com), and I could not find > anything > directly related to "storage.msn.com". > > 1. Is "connecting to storage.msn.com" a fraud/spyware? > > 2. How can I stop this sign in window from popping up? > > Thanks. > >
- Next message: WinSecu: "Re: Security policy / ACL"
- Previous message: Roger Abell [MVP]: "Re: Where is Yahoo address book spam filter?"
- In reply to: Donna Buenaventura [MVP]: "Re: connecting to storage.msn.com=spyware?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|