Re: Is this a spoof?
From: William Stacey [MVP] (staceywREMOVE_at_mvps.org)
Date: 02/06/05
- Next message: Robert Schuldenfrei: "I did a dumb thing"
- Previous message: James Mao: "Re: Port security"
- In reply to: Gunilla: "Re: Is this a spoof?"
- Next in thread: Penny_278: "Re: Is this a spoof?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Sun, 6 Feb 2005 09:42:40 -0500
Based on a vid I saw, seems that they have turned on a bunch of spam stuff
recently that was too "expensive" to run before. Seems they need to shake
out a few issues. Send an email to the support to detail your issues.
-- William Stacey, MVP http://mvp.support.microsoft.com "Gunilla" <removekakaomumsathotmaildotcom> wrote in message news:uDlw5YEDFHA.3908@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl... > I am experiencing the same thing but I have OE as my mail reader and > suddenly the hotmail folders are gone and an e-mail from > hotmail staff is in the hotmail inbox, as that one is the only left in OE, > saying I need contact them. I have checked the source from the e-mail and it > seems to be a valid one. Anyhow, when I go to the web-interface of Hotmail I > am presented with the same "Match the pictures" window after typing my > username and password and after that I get my folders back in OE. > > The annoying thing though is that it happens more than one time each week > but I understand why they need to have this kind of security measurements. > But agree that one can be very suspicious these days. > > Gunilla > > "Bigbruva" <Richardh@dontusethis.ws> skrev i meddelandet > news:es7Qq0ADFHA.1260@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl... > > Okay first things first, this is NOT a virus > > > > This is from Hotmail, it is a techniques they use to stop spammers > > creating hundreds of account in one go via some automated process. > > I must admit I have not seen this used routinely for hotmail logins. I > > tested my hotmail login via www.hotmail.com just now and I was not > > presented with this check. > > > > Is your account new? > > > > Anyway you are right to question this change but as long as it does not > > ask for personal details like your SS number or bank account details you > > should be okay. > > If you continue to be sent via this check you might try contacting the > > Hotmail tech support and ask why you are having to do this > > > > HTH > > > > BB > > > > > > "Tim" <Tim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message > > news:CFF6CDC3-BA78-4C67-BD2B-56884AB6FB23@microsoft.com... > >> Operating System: windows XP > >> Connection Type: cable modem > >> Browser Type: ie 6+ > >> > >> Recently, when attempting to log onto hotmail via www.hotmail.com, I am > >> now > >> being asked to "Match the pictures". After entering my password, I am > >> then > >> redirected to another URL which prompts me to "Match a picutre" to enter. > >> Is > >> this new to hotmail or a spoof? When I enter the characters, I do get > >> into > >> hotmail, but this has never been there before. I am worried that it is a > >> virus that is redirecting me. That URL is: > >> http://hipservice.passport.net/forcehip.srf?id=2&ru=http%3a%2f%2fwww%2ehotmail%2emsn%2ecom%2fcgi%2dbin%2fsbox&tk=5AAAAAAAAHaH5SlHCfh%21vCYuZRLHqLeSMISOD27ewz5qkus5hJBdv8%2a1WHq%2ar9afyJ6tXjAueHs4c%24&lc=1033 > > > > >
- Next message: Robert Schuldenfrei: "I did a dumb thing"
- Previous message: James Mao: "Re: Port security"
- In reply to: Gunilla: "Re: Is this a spoof?"
- Next in thread: Penny_278: "Re: Is this a spoof?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]