Re: False MSN advertisement or not?
From: PA Bear (PABearMVP_at_gmail.com)
Date: 02/04/05
- Next message: PA Bear: "Re: Windows XP SP2 and IE 6.0 security settings -- web pages on local drive"
- Previous message: djc8484: "Account Lockout Event 675"
- In reply to: SoulSentinal: "False MSN advertisement or not?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Fri, 4 Feb 2005 01:00:17 -0500
1. Did you log-in to this "Passport"? Was it indeed a .NET Passport prompt,
as far as you know?
2. Are you an MSN subscriber?
3. The email is legit and was sent to you based on your MSN/Hotmail
preferences.
4. Do you realize everyone reading your post now knows your Hotmail address?
This includes Trojans which 'harvest' addresses from these newsgroups (in
whatever format) as well as from newsgroup posts downloaded onto someone's
machine.
Never post your real address in a newsgroup post!
-- ~Robear Dyer (PA Bear) MS MVP-Windows (IE/OE) & Security SoulSentinal wrote: > First a strange thing has happened when I turned on my computer. A > passport login window came up out of nowhere asking for my password. I am > afraid I may have inadvertently allowed myself to be hacked. How can I > find out for sure if I have? > Secondly after this I immediately received this in my e-mail: > From: MSN Search > Date: 02/03/05 19:51:06 > To: soulsentinal@hotmail.com > Subject: Introducing the more precise, more powerful new MSN Search. > The website address comes up as: > http://www.imagine-msn.com/search/tour/desktop.aspx > The claim of this site is that it can give you a more precise serch engine > on your desktop.
- Next message: PA Bear: "Re: Windows XP SP2 and IE 6.0 security settings -- web pages on local drive"
- Previous message: djc8484: "Account Lockout Event 675"
- In reply to: SoulSentinal: "False MSN advertisement or not?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|