Re: Hot Mail Staff
From: Tom Pepper Willett (tompepper_at_mvps.org)
Date: 02/01/05
- Next message: Tom Pepper Willett: "Re: Are you using the Windows Firewall?"
- Previous message: jtgh: "Re: password protecting folders - is it possible???"
- In reply to: EmandAbsMom: "Re: Hot Mail Staff"
- Next in thread: ToyeGirl: "Re: Hot Mail Staff"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Mon, 31 Jan 2005 18:12:21 -0600
"phishing"
Tom
"EmandAbsMom" <EmandAbsMom@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:BB9F69CA-BA57-4D5C-8BCC-BAFF4E4D10CB@microsoft.com...
| This happened to me too. Is there someone we should forward the message
to?
| I knew when I saw that it was asking for SSN, bank account number, pin
| number, etc that something was fishy. I hope others are realizing this is
a
| scam!
|
|
| "ToyeGirl" wrote:
|
| >
| >
| > "N. Miller" wrote:
| >
| > > In article <36302CE0-8B8D-413C-BFA8-FF729E1813F4@microsoft.com>,
says...
| > >
| > > > I received an email from "Customers Support" stating that an audit
had
| > > > reveiled a problem with my acvcount and that if I did not go to the
enclosed
| > > > link within 48 hours my email service would be come limited. Is this
an issue
| > > > that I need to follow up on or is it some kind of scam or illegal
attempt to
| > > > obtain personal information?
| > >
| > > Any such message is better than 99.99% scam. If your Hotmail account
is a
| > > free account, there is nothing to audit anyway. If you get such a
message
| > > about a paid account, any account you pay for, go directly to the site
| > > without using any links in the message. It is probably wise to
bookmark your
| > > providers' billing pages. Close such a message, clear your cache, and
close
| > > your browser if it was open. Start with a fresh cache and a new
browser
| > > session.
| > >
| > > --
| > > Norman
| > > ~Win dain a lotica, En vai tu ri, Si lo ta
| > > ~Fin dein a loluca, En dragu a sei lain
| > > ~Vi fa-ru les shutai am, En riga-lint
| > >
| >
| >
| >
| > I received the same email today. If you click on the link you should
notice
| > that the URL address has changed. Also please (ALWAYS) notice that the
site
| > is NOT secure. I have forwarded the entire email including the link and
the
| > information requested on the link to the FBI. They immediately sent me
a
| > PERSONAL response (not automated). They indicated that this information
be
| > shared with family, friends and co-workers and to report anything like
this
| > to the FBI.
| >
| > Carol
- Next message: Tom Pepper Willett: "Re: Are you using the Windows Firewall?"
- Previous message: jtgh: "Re: password protecting folders - is it possible???"
- In reply to: EmandAbsMom: "Re: Hot Mail Staff"
- Next in thread: ToyeGirl: "Re: Hot Mail Staff"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|