Re: Hot Mail Staff
From: EmandAbsMom (EmandAbsMom_at_discussions.microsoft.com)
Date: 02/01/05
- Next message: jtgh: "Re: password protecting folders - is it possible???"
- Previous message: Shreeniwas Kelkar [MSFT]: "Re: Cannot open encrypted files"
- Next in thread: Tom Pepper Willett: "Re: Hot Mail Staff"
- Reply: Tom Pepper Willett: "Re: Hot Mail Staff"
- Reply: ToyeGirl: "Re: Hot Mail Staff"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Mon, 31 Jan 2005 16:01:02 -0800
This happened to me too. Is there someone we should forward the message to?
I knew when I saw that it was asking for SSN, bank account number, pin
number, etc that something was fishy. I hope others are realizing this is a
scam!
"ToyeGirl" wrote:
>
>
> "N. Miller" wrote:
>
> > In article <36302CE0-8B8D-413C-BFA8-FF729E1813F4@microsoft.com>, says...
> >
> > > I received an email from "Customers Support" stating that an audit had
> > > reveiled a problem with my acvcount and that if I did not go to the enclosed
> > > link within 48 hours my email service would be come limited. Is this an issue
> > > that I need to follow up on or is it some kind of scam or illegal attempt to
> > > obtain personal information?
> >
> > Any such message is better than 99.99% scam. If your Hotmail account is a
> > free account, there is nothing to audit anyway. If you get such a message
> > about a paid account, any account you pay for, go directly to the site
> > without using any links in the message. It is probably wise to bookmark your
> > providers' billing pages. Close such a message, clear your cache, and close
> > your browser if it was open. Start with a fresh cache and a new browser
> > session.
> >
> > --
> > Norman
> > ~Win dain a lotica, En vai tu ri, Si lo ta
> > ~Fin dein a loluca, En dragu a sei lain
> > ~Vi fa-ru les shutai am, En riga-lint
> >
>
>
>
> I received the same email today. If you click on the link you should notice
> that the URL address has changed. Also please (ALWAYS) notice that the site
> is NOT secure. I have forwarded the entire email including the link and the
> information requested on the link to the FBI. They immediately sent me a
> PERSONAL response (not automated). They indicated that this information be
> shared with family, friends and co-workers and to report anything like this
> to the FBI.
>
> Carol
- Next message: jtgh: "Re: password protecting folders - is it possible???"
- Previous message: Shreeniwas Kelkar [MSFT]: "Re: Cannot open encrypted files"
- Next in thread: Tom Pepper Willett: "Re: Hot Mail Staff"
- Reply: Tom Pepper Willett: "Re: Hot Mail Staff"
- Reply: ToyeGirl: "Re: Hot Mail Staff"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|