Re: Global.msads.net Login Screen

From: Roger Abell (mvpNOSpam_at_asu.edu)
Date: 01/26/05


Date: Wed, 26 Jan 2005 01:27:56 -0700

Bizarre Brian.
So why were you running the IIS Admin service ?
This is pre-req for IIS parts to run, but otherwise unneeded.

-- 
Roger
"Brian D" <Spamaway@spiderfree.com> wrote in message
news:%23FiZNb2AFHA.1260@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>
> "Roger Abell" <mvpNOSpam@asu.edu> wrote in message
> news:OCOuSY0AFHA.3120@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > "Malke" <noreply@invalid.com> wrote in message
> > news:%23qeXOlvAFHA.2316@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> >> Roger Abell wrote:
> >>
> >> > I would not be so quick in stating he is not being phished.
> >> > That something that seems to be a passport login is appearing
> >> > from the msads.net domain is not right.
> >> >
> >> > While I do not use MSN all the same I have regularly noticed
> >> > my DNS cache has resolved servers in this domain (perhaps
> >> > related to the newer search experiments of MS).
> >> >
> >> So there is the possibility that even though the domain is owned by MS,
> >> he's got something that is interspersing itself between the legitimate
> >> domain and him; i.e., the popup asking for the passport login? That
> >> certainly makes sense. Well, since the OP hasn't been back since his
> >> first post, I guess we'll never know.
> >>
> >> Thanks for the additional info, Roger.
> >>
> >
> > Don't you just love the stories where we never get to
> > hear the closing chapter ?
> >
> > -- 
> > Roger
> >
> Closing Chapter!!!!
> The spyware married the Trojan and contained the viruses forever!! :) Just
> joking!
> I went to my Windows Hosts file and cleared all entries except the one to
> 127.1.--
> Did not get the popups after this. Also after this I downloaded the real
MS
> Anti-Spy program which while a Beta is most likely a product that was
under
> liscense from another company. Ran that and have a clean bill of health.
> Thanks guys!
> Brian
>
>

Loading