Re: Security Pop-up
From: Rob Schneider (rmschne_at_removetheones_b1e1e1b.net.net)
Date: 09/26/04
- Next message: Chuck: "Re: Unsecured wireless network"
- Previous message: Chuck: "Re: Adware and spyware"
- In reply to: Stephanie: "Security Pop-up"
- Next in thread: Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]: "Re: Security Pop-up"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Sun, 26 Sep 2004 16:02:03 +0100
As an internet computer user who has capability to reformat and
reinstall XP, you should know better.
The owner of the domain is:
Domain name: windowspatch.net
Registrant Contact:
Thomas Backman (thomasbackman2000@yahoo.se)
+46.856621501
Fax: +46.
Korsbarsv. 1
STOCKHOLM, 11423
SE
Billing Contact:
HB SpacePro Network
SpacePro Network (info@spacepro.net)
+46.732080856
Fax: +46.45518012
Muraregatan 27
Karlskrona, 371 38
SE
It is surely bogus site. Probably trying to con you out of money or put
malware on your computer.
Fix the security on you machine to stop pop-ups.
I hope there was a real reason for you to reformat and reinstall
Windows... a reason more than just some bogus popup telling you to.
Stephanie wrote:
> I keep getting a pop up saying I need to download a patch
> because my Windows XP has a vulnerability. When I go to
> the website, which is www.windowspatch.net, it then asks
> me to pay a single user one time fee. Does anyone know
> about this or is having the same problem? I just
> reformatted my hard drive and reinstalled Windows XP so I
> hope that has nothing to do with this pop up. I had
> never received it before.
> Any help would be greatly appreciated.
- Next message: Chuck: "Re: Unsecured wireless network"
- Previous message: Chuck: "Re: Adware and spyware"
- In reply to: Stephanie: "Security Pop-up"
- Next in thread: Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]: "Re: Security Pop-up"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|