Re: Yahoo Messenger website valid???
From: L (anonymous_at_discussions.microsoft.com)
Date: 08/22/04
- Next message: Warren Lee: "Security Certificates"
- Previous message: PA Bear: "Re: security check"
- In reply to: PA Bear: "Re: Yahoo Messenger website valid???"
- Next in thread: PA Bear: "Re: Yahoo Messenger website valid???"
- Reply: PA Bear: "Re: Yahoo Messenger website valid???"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Sun, 22 Aug 2004 00:20:26 -0700
Thanks for getting back to me. I have notified Yahoo
about this but have not heard back. I will try again. Is
there anything that I should really be concerned about
now? Or will it be okay until I hear from Yahoo? I did
run HJT and no red items were found that needed to be
fixed. I just don't want something to mess with my
computer if need be. Again thanks for your response.
>-----Original Message-----
>http://us.dl1.yimg/download.yahoo.com/pgdownload/ym is
invalid (now) and
>does not resolve. I'd ask Yahoo about this. If Yahoo
Messenger loads and
>connects at startup, a pop-up about a security-related
update is not
>unusual, though installing the update normally requires
user intervention
>(approval).
>
>Internet Explorer Downloads (valid)
>http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downloads/default.msp
x
>
>Our apologies...The page you are looking for no longer
exists. (invalid)
>http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downloads/default/msp
x#XSLTfullModule122121120120
>
>Current page to download Yahoo Messenger
>http://messenger.yahoo.com/download.php;_ylt=AkGyGfKvZEIl
PAV1Ed856r.hXcMF
>
>http://red.clientsapps.yahoo.customize/ie/defaults/stpyms
gg6/*http://www.yahoo.com
>may well have been associated with Yahoo Messenger or
Yahoo Companion. It
>would redirect either your IE homepage or default search
to
>http://www.yahoo.com. This can happen if you choose the
default, rather
>than custom, install of Messenger and or Companion.
>--
>~Robear Dyer (PA Bear)
>MS MVP-Windows (IE/OE), AH-VSOP
>
>Are You Ready for WinXP SP2?
>http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?pr=windowsxpsp2
>
>What You Should Know About Spyware
>http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/spyware/deviouss
oftware.mspx
>
>AumHa Forums
>http://forum.aumha.org
>
>L wrote:
>> I have Windows XP Pro sp1, IE6.0 and use Yahoo
Messenger
>> 6.0 About a week ago I dialed into the internet and a
>> screen came up saying:
>> > > > There is a security update to Yahoo Messenger.
>> Install immediately and it just downloaded from
location
>> http://us.dl1.yimg/download.yahoo.com/pgdownload/ym
and
>> it was 4545k. (Since it took awhile for download I was
>> able to write all info down for post). As download
>> progressed (could not stop it) it took me to the
>> Microsoft Internet Explorer Downloads site
>>
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downloads/default.mspx
>> Then it changed to site
>>
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downloads/default/mspx
>> #XSLTfullModule122121120120 Can someone tell me if
>> this is a valid site? I've never had Yahoo messenger
>> notify me for security updates? I have all WU critical
>> updates and I did install a security update from
optional
>> updates (v5). I sent a feedback to Yahoo 3 days ago but
>> they have yet to respond. I had a virus on my computer
>> today that I got rid of and when I ran hijackthis one
of
>> the entries that said could be suspicious was the
>>
http://red.clientsapps.yahoo.customize/ie/defaults/stpymsg
>> g6/*http://www.yahoo.com which is for yahoo messenger.
>> Just need to know if someone knows if sites listed
above
>> are valid. Any advice or help would be nice.
>
>.
>
- Next message: Warren Lee: "Security Certificates"
- Previous message: PA Bear: "Re: security check"
- In reply to: PA Bear: "Re: Yahoo Messenger website valid???"
- Next in thread: PA Bear: "Re: Yahoo Messenger website valid???"
- Reply: PA Bear: "Re: Yahoo Messenger website valid???"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]