Re: SpywareBlaster restricts freewebs.com - Is this right??

From: Mike Burgess (winhelp2002_at_spamthis.com)
Date: 04/12/04


Date: Sun, 11 Apr 2004 21:08:37 -0400

Kieren,
You're welcome .... glad to see you have things resolved.
_____________________________________________________________
Mike Burgess [MVP Windows Shell\User] http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/
Blocking Spyware, Adware, Parasites, Hijackers, Trojans, with a HOSTS file
http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm [updated 04-09-04]
Please post replies to this Newsgroup, email address is invalid

--
"Kieren Evans" <k_e_news@SPECIALLY.4.NEWSGROUPS.REMOVE.ALL.CAPSyahoo.co.uk>
wrote in message news:u$D3xG8HEHA.2948@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
> Finally the mystery of Mozilla installed has gone! Thankyou very much for
> your help, wish those uninstallers would delete all the files when
> uninstalled. Anyway the Netscape folder was zipped up by Winzip and the
> actual folders are gone but any  problems and they will be unzipped and
put
> back. SpywareBlaster now detects
> Mozilla is not installed.
> Thanks again.
>
> -- 
> Kieren Evans
>
> "Mike Burgess" <winhelp2002@spamthis.com> wrote in message
> news:O2AZ7J2HEHA.3896@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
> > Kieren,
> > >"Any reason why this is still here"
> > SpywareBlaster must be detecting the "profiles" installed by Netscape?
> >
> > >"IE6 was preinstalled on computer and it says on About that it is a
> > "customised version"
> > Keyword: "preinstalled" OEM version, that's normal .....
> > ____________________________________________________________
> > Mike Burgess  [MVP Windows Shell\User] http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/
> > Blocking Spyware, Adware, Parasites, Hijackers, Trojans, with a HOSTS
file
> > http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm [updated 04-09-04]
> > Please post replies to this Newsgroup, email address is invalid
> > --
> >
> > "Kieren Evans" <k_e_news@SPECIALLY.FOR.NEWSGROUPS.yahoo.co.uk> wrote in
> > message news:1ad0f01c41f0c$ddb7dee0$a301280a@phx.gbl...
> > > True, true.
> > > In fact that is what I did do at first and then went to
> > > update SpywareBlaster to see if it was a mistake and it if
> > > had been withdrawn to find out spywareblaster is now v3.1
> > > so i redownloaded it and installed and enabled all
> > > protection so the restriction is back on now. Also I have
> > > IE6 (6.1???) and in SpywareBlaster as well as IE it
> > > enables protection for Mozilla. I have never used mozilla
> > > so its weird. I admit that I tried to install Netscape but
> > > didnt like the way it changed my preferences for default
> > > file types so I uninstalled it. Any reason why this is
> > > still here? IE6 was preinstalled on computer and it says
> > > on About that it is a "customised version". Weird.
> > > Will uncheck freewebs but im still worried about it
> > > because I am hosted by them.
> > >
> > > _____________
> > > Kieren Evans (Web-based version of NG, not @ my computer)
> > >
> > > >-----Original Message-----
> > > >Kieren,
> > > >You're welcome, I guess if you really need access to that
> > > >site you could uncheck that entry in SpywareBlaster's
> > > Restricted items.
> > > >__________________________________________________________
> > > __
> > > >Mike Burgess  [MVP Windows Shell\User]
> > > http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/
> > > >Blocking Spyware, Adware, Parasites, Hijackers, Trojans,
> > > with a HOSTS file
> > > >http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm [updated 04-09-
> > > 04]
> > > >Please post replies to this Newsgroup, email address is
> > > invalid
> > > >--
> > > >
> > > >"Kieren Evans"
> > > <k_e_news@SPECIALLY.4.NEWSGROUPS.REMOVE.ALL.CAPSyahoo.co.uk
> > > >
> > > >wrote in message
> > > news:epQ9kpoHEHA.716@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > > >> Ok, thanks for the info. When the forums back up i will
> > > ask them.
> > > >> Cheers
> > > >>
> > > >> -- 
> > > >> Kieren Evans
> > > >>
> > > >> "Mike Burgess" <winhelp2002@spamthis.com> wrote in
> > > message
> > > >> news:Os45AFoHEHA.2376@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > > >> > Kieren,
> > > >> > IIRC at one time "freewebs.com" was
> > > using "coolwebsearch.com"
> > > >> > as a search engine. In checking the CWS database
> > > Merijn has
> > > >> > "freewebs.com" listed as a CWS site.
> > > >> >
> > > >>
> > > >http://www.google.com/search?num=20&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-
> > > 8&oe=UTF-8&safe=off&c2coff=1&q=coolwebsearch.com+%
> > > 2B+freewebs.com
> > > >> >
> > > >> > You might want to contact Javacool and inquire as to
> > > why that
> > > >> > entry exists. The Support Forum is down right now for
> > > maintenance.
> > > >> > http://www.wilderssecurity.com/
> > > >> >
> > > ___________________________________________________________
> > > _
> > > >> > Mike Burgess  [MVP Windows Shell\User]
> > > http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/
> > > >> > Blocking Spyware, Adware, Parasites, Hijackers,
> > > Trojans, with a HOSTS
> > > >file
> > > >> > http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm [updated 04-
> > > 09-04]
> > > >> > Please post replies to this Newsgroup, email address
> > > is invalid
> > > >> > --
> > > >> >
> > > >> > "Kieren Evans"
> > > >>
> > > <k_e_news@SPECIALLY.4.NEWSGROUPS.REMOVE.ALL.CAPSyahoo.co.uk
> > > >
> > > >> > wrote in message
> > > news:OQHlNanHEHA.2164@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > > >> > > Hi,
> > > >> > > I recently installed, updated and enabled all
> > > protection for all
> > > >things
> > > >> in
> > > >> > > JavaCoolSoftware's Spyware Blaster. I now recieve a
> > > warning when i try
> > > >> to
> > > >> > > access and edit my account at
> > > http://www.freewebs.com which then
> > > >> redirects
> > > >> > > to http://members.freewebs.com
> > > >> > > The warning is for "sending information to
> > > restricted sites could
> > > >allow
> > > >> > > others to see". I then check in spywareblaster and
> > > find the entry
> > > >> > > "coolwebsearch (382) freewebs.com".
> > > >> > > My question is that is freewebs a free webhosting
> > > company a bad site
> > > >or
> > > >> is
> > > >> > > this a different freewebs. I yahooed it but didnt
> > > find anything for
> > > >> > > "freewebs coolwebsearch" or "freewebs cws" that is
> > > relevant.
> > > >> > > Any info please?
> > > >> > > Thanks in advance
> > > >> > > -- 
> > > >> > >
> > > >> > > Kieren Evans
> > > >> > >
> > > >> > >
> > > >> >
> > > >> >
> > > >>
> > > >>
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >.
> > > >
> >
> >
>
>


Relevant Pages

  • Re: AntiVirus&Adware ETC...?
    ... Is it safe to install AVG with Avast already installed? ... SpywareBlaster is also highly recommended. ... It is not a bad idea to also block crap with a HOSTS file. ... Do you/is this recommend? ...
    (microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support)
  • Re: SpywareBlaster
    ... SpywareBlaster Support Forum ... Blocking Spyware, Adware, Parasites, Hijackers, Trojans, with a HOSTS file ... > After loading Spybot and Ad-aware, I am still not able to ...
    (microsoft.public.security)
  • Re: spyware popping up faster than i can remove
    ... Another excellent program for this purpose is SpyBot Search and Destroy ... Click on the "Security" tab ... Disable BOTH "Install on Demand" options on the IE6 Advanced tab. ... You might want to consider installing Eric Howes' IESpyAds, SpywareBlaster ...
    (microsoft.public.security.virus)
  • Re: unable to reset default home page
    ... > we have a pc that when click on internet explorer C:\windows\secure.html ... Run the HiJackThis first, then run the others while you ... Also install the SpywareBlaster to ...
    (microsoft.public.windows.inetexplorer.ie6.browser)
  • Re: ad-ware installed with no user interaction?
    ... > Control Panel | Internet Options ... > You might want to consider installing Eric Howes' IESpyAds, SpywareBlaster ... > controls, Java applets, or scripting to compromise your privacy or your PC ... install and keep updated a good HOSTS file. ...
    (microsoft.public.security.virus)

Loading