Re: Mysterious pop up MS warning

From: Tedd Riggs (T_Riggs_at_MSN)
Date: 02/12/04


Date: Thu, 12 Feb 2004 14:58:03 -0800

This sounds like our friends at http://www.windows-patch.info again, last
week they were just www.windowspatch.com and a traceroute gave them as
having a Kirkland, WA location. That site is gone and the new one looks the
same, but does not use PayPal for the downloads. I sent the URL and
Traceroute to MS Piracy about 2 weeks ago. On my system, I will get either a
plan pop-up saying I need to update or a pop-up like described below with
the Microsoft logo that is used on the fake Microsoft Web Page (The one with
the s that does not have a "tail" that goes into the o on the world
Microsoft and looks like a basic Italic font).
My pop-up only happen when I am visiting the Microsoft.com website and
usually when I am in Support, MSDN or TechNet.
Tedd

-- 
Tedd Riggs
PDA Square Content Developer
www.pdasquare.com
Redmond,   WA
"Danny Slye - [MSFT}" <dslye@online.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:wHMJOza8DHA.2852@cpmsftngxa07.phx.gbl...
> This sounds bogus, can you provide some more information please?
> --------------------
>
> >
> >In our shop we are getting pop up notices that indicate we
> >need to upgrade our operating system.  The notice pops up
> >when we are in outlook.  It looks like a MS message with
> >the logo and everything.  Two buttons are available.  One
> >to install now, the other to do it latter.  Is thi a valid
> >MS notice?
> >
>
> __
> Danny Slye
> Microsoft Support Professional
> MCSE
>
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties and confers no rights.
> Please reply to the newsgroup so that others may benefit.  Thanks!
>