Is this a hacker's trick?? **WARNING**
From: amcheeks (spidermouse8@yahoo.com)
Date: 09/16/02
- Next message: George Ruch: "Re: Is this a hacker's trick?? **WARNING**"
- Previous message: JT: "Is this a hacker's trick?? **WARNING**"
- In reply to: JT: "Is this a hacker's trick?? **WARNING**"
- Next in thread: crazzzz: "Is this a hacker's trick?? **WARNING**"
- Reply: crazzzz: "Is this a hacker's trick?? **WARNING**"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
From: "amcheeks" <spidermouse8@yahoo.com> Date: Sun, 15 Sep 2002 17:46:46 -0700
Hi,,,i got an e-mail yesterday and i am trying to find
out whether it was legit or not,,, i have norton security
and when i started downloading mail it came up with a
message saying i had a virus trying to be sent to me..I
had to have it quarantined and i didn't open attachment,
but i did see the senders name, the name was pluto and
they message said ,,,windows xp patch, enjoy,, i didnt'
open attachment, because i can't see microsoft sending a
patch that way,, is that possible
>-----Original Message-----
>Today I received this email with an attachment
q216309.exe
>supposedly from Microsoft.com {the actual email address
>was rdquest12@microsoft.com} This is the message:
>
>((Microsoft Customer,
>
> this is the latest version of security update, the
>"11 Sep 2002 Cumulative Patch" update which eliminates
all
>known security vulnerabilities affecting Internet
Explorer
>and
>MS Outlook/Express as well as six new vulnerabilities,
and
>is
>discussed in Microsoft Security Bulletin MS02-005.
Install
>now to
>protect your computer from these vulnerabilities, the
most
>serious of which
>could allow an attacker to run code on your computer.
>
>
>Description of several well-know vulnerabilities:
>
>- "Incorrect MIME Header Can Cause IE to Execute E-mail
>Attachment" vulnerability.
>If a malicious user sends an affected HTML e-mail or
hosts
>an affected
>e-mail on a Web site, and a user opens the e-mail or
>visits the Web site,
>Internet Explorer automatically runs the executable on
the
>user's computer.
>
>- A vulnerability that could allow an unauthorized user
to
>learn the location
>of cached content on your computer. This could enable
the
>unauthorized
>user to launch compiled HTML Help (.chm) files that
>contain shortcuts to
>executables, thereby enabling the unauthorized user to
run
>the executables
>on your computer.
>
>- A new variant of the "Frame Domain Verification"
>vulnerability could enable a
>malicious Web site operator to open two browser windows,
>one in the Web site's
>domain and the other on your local file system, and to
>pass information from
>your computer to the Web site.
>
>- CLSID extension vulnerability. Attachments which end
>with a CLSID file extension
>do not show the actual full extension of the file when
>saved and viewed with
>Windows Explorer. This allows dangerous file types to
look
>as though they are simple,
>harmless files - such as JPG or WAV files - that do not
>need to be blocked.
>
>
>System requirements:
>Versions of Windows no earlier than Windows 95.
>
>This update applies to:
>Versions of Internet Explorer no earlier than 4.01
>Versions of MS Outlook no earlier than 8.00
>Versions of MS Outlook Express no earlier than 4.01
>
>How to install
>Run attached file q216309.exe
>
>How to use
>You don't need to do anything after installing this
item.
>
>
>For more information about these issues, read Microsoft
>Security Bulletin MS02-005, or visit link below.
>http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downloads/critical/de
fa
>ult.asp
>If you have some questions about this article contact us
>at rdquest12@microsoft.com
>
>Thank you for using Microsoft products.
>
>With friendly greetings,
>MS Internet Security Center.
>----------------------------------------
>----------------------------------------
>Microsoft is registered trademark of Microsoft
Corporation.
>Windows and Outlook are trademarks of Microsoft
>Corporation.))
>
>The only reasons I was worried is because one: I have
>Windows Update and I searched the attachment name
through
>Microsoft and there was none. Two: It went to an email
>address not registered with Microsoft. Is it real or
fake?
>
>.
>
- Next message: George Ruch: "Re: Is this a hacker's trick?? **WARNING**"
- Previous message: JT: "Is this a hacker's trick?? **WARNING**"
- In reply to: JT: "Is this a hacker's trick?? **WARNING**"
- Next in thread: crazzzz: "Is this a hacker's trick?? **WARNING**"
- Reply: crazzzz: "Is this a hacker's trick?? **WARNING**"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|
|