Re: New Messenger Virus called:" img0012-www.photostorage "
- From: Malke <notreally@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Thu, 13 Sep 2007 20:14:10 -0700
CharlyDeFrance wrote:
HI people,
While chatting with a friend via Windows Live Messenger v8.1 , i received from him a message saying:" I uploaded new photos of me, check them here" with a file called " img0012-www.photostorage.zip " .....since i trust this friend ,i clicked on the file to open it , SUDDENLY many windows of all my contacts who are online has been opened automatically, and the same message above that i received was sent to every contact.
So i quickly closed my messenger by Ctrl+Alt+Del since it wasn't responding, coz i new that was a Virus, and i can assure u its new since i searched for it on the net and in all Forums, and nobody talked about it or know anything about that.
So, i searched for it on my computer, and i found it in Windows directory,so i deleted it, but it looks it always reappear and causes my Messenger to send messages with the virus (btw, the messages are not the same always, they change from contact to contact, like saying "hey, just watch my new photos", or if u don't check my photos i'll be mad of you" etc etc etc etc ).
So please, did anyone heard about this new virus, coz i really need some help since i'm unable to Sign in to my messenger coz i'm afraid to spread it more and more.
P.S: i do have the file as a Zip file in my Windows Directory if someone specialist wants to check it.
You can send the file to Virus Total for identification.
http://www.virustotal.com/
There are quite a few viruses spread by instant messaging programs. What antivirus do you have installed? In addition to sending the file to Virus Total, in the meantime you can try scanning with David Lipman's Multi_AV. Follow instructions to do all scans in Safe Mode. Please see the special Notes regarding using Multi_AV in Vista.
http://www.elephantboycomputers.com/page2.html#Multi-AV - instructions
http://pcdid.com/Multi_AV.htm - download
The download is hosted on a German site but the application is English and the instructions included are in English.
Let us know what Virus Total reports.
Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User
.
- Prev by Date: Re: Is Microsoft aware?
- Next by Date: Re: Is Microsoft aware?
- Previous by thread: Is Microsoft aware?
- Next by thread: Re: New Messenger Virus called:" img0012-www.photostorage "
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|