Re: Email virus?
From: Br0wnbear (brownbearat_at_canadadotcom.com)
Date: 10/01/04
- Next message: Ed: "Re: Windows to monitor Firewalls and AV Software?"
- Previous message: Malke: "Re: hardlog.exe"
- Maybe in reply to: Malke: "Re: Email virus?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Fri, 01 Oct 2004 09:04:01 -0400
On Thu, 30 Sep 2004 11:21:06 -0500, "Bugsy" <Bugsy@bugtrap.com> wrote:
>Thanks for response. We did that, and it appears that it was sent from my
>computer through MY ISP. Is that posssible?
>
>Bugsy
>
>
>"Br0wnbear" <brownbearat@canadadotcom.com> wrote in message
>news:f19ol090sv4dedcs819bvd34co0agneses@4ax.com...
>> On Thu, 30 Sep 2004 09:15:07 -0500, "Bugsy" <Bugsy@bugtrap.com> wrote:
>>
>>>I need some information, please. Is there a virus that permits someone to
>>>take control of your computer and send email from it? A friend told me
>>>that
>>>he has received mail from me, which I did not send.
>>>
>>>Thank you for any info.
>>>
>> Bugsy
>>
>> Yes lots of them.
>> Your friend may not have received that e-mail from you. It may say you
>> in the header of the message (the from line) but that could be
>> forged. He would have to check the properties of the email message to
>> really determine which ISP it originated from.
>> You can scan your machine online at one of the various sites
>>
>> Panda Software
>> www.pandasoftware.com/activescan
>>
>> Trend Micro
>> www.trendmicro.com/housecall
>>
>> F-Secure
>> http://support.f-secure.com/enu/home/ols.shtml
>>
>>
>> If you are constantly updating your security patches at
>> http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com
>> Constantly updating your anti-virus definitions from your vendor, and
>> scanning your machine regularly.
>> Doing periodic scans with spyware scanners
>> Adaware - www.lavasoftusa.com
>> Spybot S&D - www.safer-networking.org
>> Not opening any email attachments that you are not expecting from
>> people.
>> Running a personal firewall on the machine.
>> www.sygate.com
>>
>> You should be fine.
>>
>> hth
>> John Brown
>> Bears are always happy, we get to hibern8
>
Well if the header information shows that the IP address in the header
information originates from your ISP and they are not relying solely
on bugsy@bugtr@p.com (deliberate munge) then yes you are infected.
What was the virus that was reported by your friend?
I would also recommend that you visit the online sites above.
hth
John Brown
Bears are always happy, we get to hibern8
- Next message: Ed: "Re: Windows to monitor Firewalls and AV Software?"
- Previous message: Malke: "Re: hardlog.exe"
- Maybe in reply to: Malke: "Re: Email virus?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|