Re: Strange Network Activity
From: N. Miller (anonymous_at_discussions.microsoft.com)
Date: 07/30/04
- Next message: N. Miller: "Re: emails"
- Previous message: N. Miller: "Re: Crude Popups and Un-Changeable Homepage Can Someone Help? Could This Be A Virus?"
- In reply to: anonymous_at_discussions.microsoft.com: "Re: Strange Network Activity"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Thu, 29 Jul 2004 17:45:14 -0700
In article <5b4401c474aa$9b6b9d80$a301280a@phx.gbl>, says...
> One last thing...
> In case it helps, here are the addresses that it keeps
> trying to get to:
> naipe.damaged.com.ar
The site won't let me in without a login. I am not going to play with it any
more.
> windowsupdate.microsoft.com
You have "Automatice Updates" turned on in Windows.
> pcomcast.broadjump.com
It looks like some kind of network management solutions company; "motive",
with a stylized 'm', as in the '@' symbol.
> conf.redswoosh.net
Another networking solutions company.
> naipe.no-ip.org
Sam Spade says that this one isn't going to leave my computer:
07/29/04 17:40:11 dns naipe.no-ip.org
Canonical name: naipe.no-ip.org
Addresses:
10.10.10.10
I don't see anything alarming about those sites, but possibly somewhat
sleazy; depending up what sort of network management software you have
installed. I wonder if it is just attempts at automated updating of
installed programs, though. Check what is running on that computer.
-- Norman ~Win dain a lotica, En vai tu ri, Si lo ta ~Fin dein a loluca, En dragu a sei lain ~Vi fa-ru les shutai am, En riga-lint
- Next message: N. Miller: "Re: emails"
- Previous message: N. Miller: "Re: Crude Popups and Un-Changeable Homepage Can Someone Help? Could This Be A Virus?"
- In reply to: anonymous_at_discussions.microsoft.com: "Re: Strange Network Activity"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]