Re: Why is this software so cheap ?

From: *Vanguard* (no-email_at_post-reply-in-newsgroup.invalid)
Date: 03/21/04


Date: Sat, 20 Mar 2004 18:48:12 -0600


"JohnNews" said in news:eWgJ%23ipDEHA.3748@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl:
> Folks:
>
>
> I recently got an email quoting really cheap prices for a variety of
> software products from Microsoft, Adobe, etc.
> For example, Microsoft XP Professional is being sold for $ 39.95.
>
> http://oemit.biz/?soutane
>
> Is this a legitimate site ? Why are these products so cheap ?
> Smells fishy to me!
>
>
>
> Thanks,
> John.

Well, just look at the domain name: OEMit.BIZ. OEM, so you're not
buying the retail version so their comparison against the full retail
price of the full retail version is not only misleading but nearly
fraudulent. BIZ, not a good TLD (top level domain) to affiliate one's
web site since lots of .biz sites are scam sites. Below is the
registration for oemit.biz. Notice they registered just recently on Jan
15, 2004. Also note they paid the minimum possible for that domain name
in that they registered it only for 1 year, the minimum duration. They
don't expect to be around long. The registrant is in China, so what
recourse will you have against non-delivery, wrong product, illegal
product, or excessive charges?

Domain Name: OEMIT.BIZ
Domain ID: D6056408-BIZ
Sponsoring Registrar: DIRECT INFORMATION PVT.
LTD., (D.B.A. DIRECTI.COM)
Domain Status: ok
Registrant ID: DI_257940
Registrant Name: chun pu
Registrant Organization: vchay ltd.
Registrant Address1: 3blvd 38/2
Registrant City: Tako
Registrant Postal Code: 3355s
Registrant Country: China
Registrant Country Code: CN
Registrant Phone Number: +93.827462534
Registrant Email: androis_59_sdk@china.com.cn
Administrative Contact ID: DI_257940
Administrative Contact Name: chun pu
Administrative Contact Organization: vchay ltd.
Administrative Contact Address1: 3blvd 38/2
Administrative Contact City: Tako
Administrative Contact Postal Code: 3355s
Administrative Contact Country: China
Administrative Contact Country Code: CN
Administrative Contact Phone Number: +93.827462534
Administrative Contact Email: androis_59_sdk@china.com.cn
Billing Contact ID: DI_257940
Billing Contact Name: chun pu
Billing Contact Organization: vchay ltd.
Billing Contact Address1: 3blvd 38/2
Billing Contact City: Tako
Billing Contact Postal Code: 3355s
Billing Contact Country: China
Billing Contact Country Code: CN
Billing Contact Phone Number: +93.827462534
Billing Contact Email: androis_59_sdk@china.com.cn
Technical Contact ID: DI_257940
Technical Contact Name: chun pu
Technical Contact Organization: vchay ltd.
Technical Contact Address1: 3blvd 38/2
Technical Contact City: Tako
Technical Contact Postal Code: 3355s
Technical Contact Country: China
Technical Contact Country Code: CN
Technical Contact Phone Number: +93.827462534
Technical Contact Email: androis_59_sdk@china.com.cn
Name Server: NS1.MOROZREG.BIZ
Name Server: NS2.MOROZREG.BIZ
Name Server: NS3.MOROZREG.BIZ
Name Server: NS4.MOROZREG.BIZ
Name Server: NS5.MOROZREG.BIZ
Created by Registrar: DIRECT INFORMATION PVT.
LTD., (D.B.A. DIRECTI.COM)
Last Updated by Registrar: DIRECT INFORMATION PVT.
LTD., (D.B.A. DIRECTI.COM)
Domain Registration Date: Thu Jan 15 18:25:13 GMT
2004
Domain Expiration Date: Fri Jan 14 23:59:59 GMT
2005
Domain Last Updated Date: Tue Mar 16 02:16:21 GMT
2004NeuLevel, Inc., the Registry

-- 
____________________________________________________________
*** Post replies to newsgroup.  E-mail is not accepted. ***
____________________________________________________________

Quantcast