Re: eBlocs

From: Mike Burgess (winhelp2002_at_spamthis.com)
Date: 02/29/04


Date: Sun, 29 Feb 2004 05:33:10 -0500

Tedd,
I'll let you draw your own conclusions <g>

"spybloc.com" redirects to: adrevservice.com (porn server)
"spyblocs.com" download redirects to "spybloc.com"

[OP]
>" familiar with eBlocs a free spyware scanner"
See 3rd hit:
"eBlocs: Protect Your Computer and Identity" = spybloc.com
http://www.google.com/search?num=20&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&safe=off&q=eblocs&btnG=Google+Search

As for "SpyBlocs 2.0" = $29.95 (although they do offer a trial download)
I've personally never heard of them and certainly wouldn't pay $30 for it.
____________________________________________________________
Mike Burgess [MVP Windows Shell\User] http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/
Blocking Spyware, Adware, Parasites, Hijackers, Trojans, with a HOSTS file
http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm [updated 02-24-04]
Please post replies to this Newsgroup, email address is invalid

--
"Tedd Riggs" <T_Riggs@msn.cöm> wrote in message
news:%23MnbL9n$DHA.1956@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Mike,
> Are you sure of that on 'eblocs' ? spybloc.com is the porn server in
> Australia, but spyblocs and eBlocs.com look very real to me and have tons
of
> comments of support on the net.
>
> -- 
> Tedd Riggs
> PDA Square Content Developer
> www.pdasquare.com
> Redmond,   WA
>
>
> "Mike Burgess" <winhelp2002@spamthis.com> wrote in message
> news:uNaYsHn$DHA.1732@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > Jen,
> > eBlocs (spybloc.com) is certainly not from Microsoft.
> > It's a bogus scanner running from a porn server.
> >
> > How To: Deal with Unwanted Pop-ups
> > http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/nopopups.htm
> >
> > Dealing with Unwanted Malware, Parasites, Toolbars and Search Engines
> > http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/unwanted.htm
> > ____________________________________________________________
> > Mike Burgess  [MVP Windows Shell\User] http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/
> > Blocking Spyware, Adware, Parasites, Hijackers, Trojans, with a HOSTS
file
> > http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm [updated 02-24-04]
> > Please post replies to this Newsgroup, email address is invalid
> > --
> >
> > "Jen" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> > news:426601c3fe55$59907320$a101280a@phx.gbl...
> >> I emailed earlier about the popups.
> >>
> >> Wanted to know if any of you are familiar with eBlocs a
> >> free spyware scanner that maybe from Microsoft Internet
> >> Explorer.  I mentioned earlier that a site had come up on
> >> my computer stating that I had spyware and that I could
> >> download a free spyware.  Wanted to make sure that this
> >> site is legal and not someone tryint to get into the
> >> system.
> >> Also if you couldd tell me how I can verify if sites are
> >> legal or illegal, I would be extremely grateful.
> >>
> >> Jen
> >
> >
>
>