Re: Something Odd I got in my email

From: N. Miller (nsm_at_blackhole.aosake.net)
Date: 11/28/03


Date: Fri, 28 Nov 2003 13:56:45 -0800

In article <015901c3b5d5$d80a96e0$a101280a@phx.gbl>, joe@salesdepartment.com
says...
> I was asked to use my Microsoft Passport to sign in? I
> closed that window and went straight to the domain.
> (www.youngascanbe.biz is the domain). The same screen
> appeared?

I did not get a .net Passport sign on screen when I went to that link. Maybe
you should have cleared your browser cache before going directly to the
link?

> I am perplexed over why this company would be doing this.
> What could my Microsoft Passport have to do with their
> Human Growth Hormones? And what could they use it for?

AFAIK, the .net Passport program is available for third parties to set up
sit access. I presume that Microsoft would either not allow questionable
sites to use it, or would withdraw its use on complaint of questionable
practices.

There is also Veronica's possibility; that the spam was "phishing" for
personal log in information.

-- 
Norman
~Win dain a lotica, En vai tu ri, Si lo ta
~Fin dein a loluca, En dragu a sei lain
~Vi fa-ru les shutai am, En riga-lint