Re: New Virus?
From: Bill Sanderson (Bill_Sanderson_at_msn.com.plugh.org)
Date: 10/21/03
- Next message: Patti: "Go To Hell Virus"
- Previous message: Bill Sanderson: "Re: New Virus?"
- In reply to: Andrew Z Carpenter [now with added MVP!]: "Re: New Virus?"
- Next in thread: Andrew Z Carpenter [now with added MVP!]: "Re: New Virus?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Mon, 20 Oct 2003 21:22:09 -0400
And here's the patch which can prevent QHOSTS infections:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/treeview/default.asp?url=/technet/security/bulletin/MS03-040.asp
"Andrew Z Carpenter [now with added MVP!]" <azc@FILTERcirencester.ac.uk>
wrote in message news:%23wOt4Q0lDHA.2616@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
> > <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> > news:010a01c3973f$6b333e00$a601280a@phx.gbl...
> >
> > Hi JB:
> >
> > Well,I downloaded both tools and cleared off a couple of
> > data miners, restarted and I'm still being re-directed to
> > the bogus Microsoft site! It actully blocks the link to
> > the Security patch dowload link on the MS Homepage too....
> >
> > My IT guys are baffled...they can't find anything either.
> > This is quite bizarre! This is the error message I get...
> >
> > Error: The website you are looking for does not appear to
> > be located on this server.
> >
> > It is our understanding that your computer may require one
> > of the new security patches from Microsoft.Com. Please
> > download it from the following address:
> > http://www.windowsupdate.com
> >
> > After you have updated your windows security at
> > Microsoft's Windows Update (The Link Above) the address
> > you have typed in should take you to where you expected to
> > go.
> >
> > Have you ever seen this before??
> >
> > Many thanks,
> > Donna
> > Thankyou.
>
>
>
> Again, my guess is infection by the QHosts Trojan.
>
> Scan your computer with updated antivirus software, or more
> specifically a QHosts removal tool, such as the one provided
> by Symantec.
>
> As for the link for WindowsUpdate, Microsoft did used to own
> that address but it was taken down due to automated attack
> by virus infected machines.
>
> The real Windows Update website address is as follows:
> http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com
>
> The Qhosts trojan can infect your computer if it is missing
> the latest cumulative patch for Internet Explorer (not the
> bogus one being emailed, but the real one you get from MS).
>
> Good luck!
>
> --
> AZC
> MVP
>
>
> ---
>
> Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
> Version: 6.0.528 / Virus Database: 324 - Release Date: 16/10/2003
>
>
- Next message: Patti: "Go To Hell Virus"
- Previous message: Bill Sanderson: "Re: New Virus?"
- In reply to: Andrew Z Carpenter [now with added MVP!]: "Re: New Virus?"
- Next in thread: Andrew Z Carpenter [now with added MVP!]: "Re: New Virus?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|