NO: Virus alert . Is it legitimate
From: sam (sam_at_myhouse.com)
Date: 09/08/03
- Next message: Andrew Z Carpenter [Newsgroup Groupie]: "Answers to frequently asked questions - 08SEP03"
- Previous message: Fred: "Virus alert . Is it legitimate"
- In reply to: Fred: "Virus alert . Is it legitimate"
- Next in thread: Jurren Bouman: "Re: Virus alert . Is it legitimate"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Sun, 7 Sep 2003 21:56:20 -0700
you can safely open the email message.
DO NOT OPEN ANY ATTACHMENT.
DO NOT RESPOND TO ANY UNSUBSCRIBE LINK.
in <header> information look for these items:
name@computer.com
and
202.131.135.226
go to your email server blockers list and add these to
the list. you can use either numbers or @computer.com
whatever the blockers format is.
it is safer to block the offending email then it is to
unsubscribe. unsubscribe just verifies your address is
REAL and you will get
more.
>-----Original Message-----
>I am getting since I installed criticial updates
>yesterday on Direct X9 and Window Media Player 7,1, an
>alert from Miorosoft Internet Explorer with a ? that
>says Virus Warning!!! W32 RPC Virus Detected , click on
OK
>to scan and clean!! then a button below for OK and
>another cancel > I clicked on OK , yet the alert
keeps
>reappearing constantly to the point that I now simply
>closed it at X , I have a Norton Virus detector and I
ran
>it twice for all files and yet no virus is dected. Each
>time Norton anti-virus says nothing is infected. Is
this
>legitimate from Microsoft Internet Explorer or an ad?
>Because in some instances the alert when I clicked to
>scan and clean is followed by an ad to download a
>firewall, saying that the anti-virus set up would not
>detect such a virus and that I need a firewall and
>asking for me to dowload their product. which of course
I
>do not. I would appreciate any assistance whether
this
>is for real? and if so, why is it that even though
>allegedly it supposed to scan and clean it still pops
up .
>.
>
- Next message: Andrew Z Carpenter [Newsgroup Groupie]: "Answers to frequently asked questions - 08SEP03"
- Previous message: Fred: "Virus alert . Is it legitimate"
- In reply to: Fred: "Virus alert . Is it legitimate"
- Next in thread: Jurren Bouman: "Re: Virus alert . Is it legitimate"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|