Re: IS THIS A REAL WEBSITE?

From: x y, mvp (levinson_k@despammed.com)
Date: 02/27/03


From: "x y, mvp" <levinson_k@despammed.com>
Date: Thu, 27 Feb 2003 11:49:58 -0500


Looks like the web site is back online, possibly through another proxy
server in or near Korea. Not sure these people are really in Thailand.
Here's some more information on an investigation of a similar scam involving
the same DNS servers at super-zonda.com [perhaps by the same scammers?]

http://groups.google.com/groups?threadm=pan.2003.02.13.13.26.28.249531%40no.
spam.org.invalid

"x y, mvp" <levinson_k@despammed.com> wrote in message
news:O7UQVnc3CHA.2472@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
> I haven't gotten a response, but I think maybe I got to the right person
at
> the school in Tennessee and may have been close to correct about the proxy
> server, because while the DNS information for that web site still points
to
> the school's proxy server, you're no longer able to surf to that web site.
> That still doesn't get your money back, though...
>
> Thanks for letting us know about this, this was an interesting situation.
> Let us know if you get anywhere with getting satisfaction on this.
>
>
> "x y, mvp" <levinson_k@despammed.com> wrote in message
> news:OM3HQdb3CHA.2288@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> > Interestingly, I had trouble posting this... I guess there are anti-spam
> > filters in place on the newsgroup that were detecting certain words in
my
> > post.
> >
> >
> > "Karl Levinson (x y) mvp" <levinson_k@despammed.com> wrote in message
> > news:00ec01c2ddb6$aa4f5f30$a101280a@phx.gbl...
> > > The www.pharmacy excellence.com web site sure looks like a
> > > real site, but
> > > searching www.google.com turns up nothing about them,
> > > either good or bad,
> > > except for very shady spamming practices where they post
> > > their web site
> > > address to multiple "guest books" on various web pages,
> > > such as the one
> > > below:
> > >
> > > http://members.tripod.com/pak_in_eng/NatWest/guestbook.htm
> > >
> > > They're a known spammer with no online references to their
> > > company that I
> > > can find, which doesn't sound good. Also the fact that
> > > they seem to be
> > > suggesting that you can get potentially dangerous drugs
> > > like P.h.e.n.t.e.r.m.1.n.e and
> > > V.1.@.g.r.@ without seeing a doctor.
> > >
> > > I would definitely contact someone in your area that logs
> > > and/or
> > > investigates scams. In the US that would be the Better
> > > Business Bureau,
> > > www.ftc.gov, etc. and also contact your credit card
> > > company [sounds like you
> > > already did] to try to cancel the charge or at least get a
> > > contact phone
> > > number from the credit transaction.
> > >
> > > Uh oh, the contact information appears to be in Bangkok,
> > > Thailand. That
> > > makes prosecution and getting your money back difficult.
> > >
> > > Some contact information and other info may be found at:
> > >
> > > http://groups.google.com/groups?
> > > selm=14555171031.20030120004422%40xs4all.nl
> > >
> > > and more recently:
> > >
> > > http://www.network-tools.com/default.asp?
> > > prog=express&Netnic=whois.arin.net&
> > > host=pharmacyexcellence.com
> > >
> > > The State of Tennessee Department of Education is also
> > > listed as a contact
> > > here. http://visualroute.visualware.com lists
> > > www.pharmacy excellence.com as
> > > being on a server in Tennessee running Squid proxy
> > > services. Possibly a
> > > server [such as a misconfigured proxy server] at a US
> > > school has been
> > > compromised or abused to help hide the real location of
> > > the actual web
> > > server.
> > >
> > > * I did email the contacts listed under the State of
> > > Tennessee registration
> > > information just in case this was something they wanted to
> > > see. *
> > >
> > > Registrant:
> > > Domain Name: pharmacy excellence.com
> > >
> > > Administrative Contact:
> > > Raul Sao Bang (5Y7GH) support@saobangcmt.com
> > > 119 Soi Jinda-Tawil Rama Road
> > > Mahapruttaram, Bangrak,Bangkok 10500
> > > Thailand
> > > Phone: (662) 633-28201
> > >
> > > Technical Contact:
> > > Raul Sao Bang (5Y7GH) support@saobangcmt.com
> > > 119 Soi Jinda-Tawil Rama Road
> > > Mahapruttaram, Bangrak,Bangkok 10500
> > > Thailand
> > > Phone: (662) 633-28201
> > >
> > > Billing Contact:
> > > Raul Sao Bang (5Y7GH) support@saobangcmt.com
> > > 119 Soi Jinda-Tawil Rama Road
> > > Mahapruttaram, Bangrak,Bangkok 10500
> > > Thailand
> > > Phone: (662) 633-28201
> > >
> > > Registration Service Provider: Efficient Systems
> > >
> > > (888) 5609072
> > >
> > > OrgName: State of Tennessee Department ofEducation
> > > OrgID: STDO
> > > Address: 710 James Robertson Parkway
> > > Address: 7th Floor
> > > City: Nashville
> > > StateProv: TN
> > > PostalCode: 37243
> > > Country: US
> > >
> > > NetRange: 66.4.0.0 - 66.5.255.255
> > > CIDR: 66.4.0.0/15
> > > NetName: TEN-NASH-2BL
> > > NetHandle: NET-66-4-0-0-1
> > > Parent: NET-66-0-0-0-0
> > > NetType: Direct Assignment
> > > NameServer: NS1.ENA.COM
> > > NameServer: NS2.ENA.COM
> > > Comment:
> > > RegDate: 2000-08-24
> > > Updated: 2002-02-25
> > >
> > > TechHandle: LC682-ARIN
> > > TechName: Cothron, Lisa
> > > TechPhone: +1-615-532-2818
> > > TechEmail: lisa.cothron@state.tn.us
> > >
> > > OrgTechHandle: NOC115-ARIN
> > > OrgTechName: NOC
> > > OrgTechPhone: +1-615-312-6200
> > > OrgTechEmail: hostmaster@ena.com
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > "AIKIDO59" <AIKIDO59@AOL.CO> wrote in message
> > > news:061b01c2dda1$b669b7d0$a501280a@phx.gbl...
> > > > I RECENTLY PURCHASED A PRODUCT FROM
> > > > www.one.stop.prescriptions.com , AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS
> > > TO
> > > > CONTACT THEM AND CONFIRM MY ORDER, I'VE GOTTEN NO
> > > > RESPONSE. CAN SOMEONE PLEASE CONFIRM THAT THIS IS NIT A
> > > > SCAM,AFTER TALKING TO MY BANK THEY CHARGED MY CARD ON
> > > > 2/24/03 TO A COMPANY CALLED MEDLINE. HELP?
> > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>



Relevant Pages

  • Re: Slow web sites
    ... when you create the destination set and the ... >'use a proxy server'. ... If you accesses the specific web site by using the IP address, ...
    (microsoft.public.backoffice.smallbiz2000)
  • Re: IS THIS A REAL WEBSITE?
    ... > their web site ... > Thailand. ... > The State of Tennessee Department of Education is also ... > server at a US ...
    (microsoft.public.inetserver.iis.security)
  • IS THIS A REAL WEBSITE?
    ... The www.pharmacy excellence.com web site sure looks like a ... Thailand. ... The State of Tennessee Department of Education is also ... server at a US ...
    (microsoft.public.inetserver.iis.security)
  • Re: Cant Access company Web
    ... Try adding http://companyweb into the exception list or unchecking Use Proxy ... You should get the IP address of the SBS server. ... If DNS is working correctly and everything else above checks out, ... >>> Open the Web site home page, and then look for links to ...
    (microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs)
  • Re: Cannot access secure websites
    ... Web site or the Microsoft Update Web site ... | the trusted sites list, double checked my host file, removed the proxy server ...
    (microsoft.public.windowsupdate)