"http:" and "https:" -- must I register the same domain name twice to reserve my name for both?

From: Bill Velek (billvelek@alliancecable.net)
Date: 05/05/02

Date: Sun, 05 May 2002 01:29:54 -0500
From: Bill Velek <billvelek@alliancecable.net>

My last name is 'Velek' and I own the domain name "velek.com", which
I've had for family use since the late 1990's. It has never expired.

There is apparently a difference between "http:" and "https:" because,
although using the same _domain_name_, they contain two entirely
different sites, with the latter NOT belonging to me. See
http:www.velek.com and https:www.velek.com

I discovered this when I _accidentally_ included the 's' in the URL at
the end of 'http', and after a couple of pop-up windows which indicated
"Server Certificate Expired" and "Security Error: Domain Name Mismatch"
-- the text of which is quoted in detail below for those interested --
I arrived at a web-site that is entirely different than mine, but still
uses "velek.com". At least that's what is still listed in my browser's
URL location bar.

Since the pop-up windows warn of a possible effort to intercept messages
intended for my domain and suggest contacting the site administrator, I
became concerned that maybe someone was hacking my site or something of
that nature, so I telephoned the hosting service where my site is
stored. When I explained what happened, I was surprised that I was
questioned about what I was doing trying to reach a "secured" web-site
-- as if maybe I had been doing something WRONG. I explained that I had
come upon that by _accident_, and I was then told that I "shouldn't be
going there", that it has nothing to do with my web-site, and to not pay
any attention to it. If that's not true, then I'm certainly going to
change to another hosting service, but I'd like to know what the
difference is between "http:" and "https:". Also, if there is some
reason why I might someday want to use "httpS:" for my _own_ purposes,
how do I go about reserving the same domain name -- velek.com? Did I
somehow miss something when I registered my domain?

For those interested in more detailed info, this is what each pop-up
window actually stated:

"Server Certificate Expired" <-- in the Title Bar> ... and the window's
text said:
"gazeboguys.com is a site that uses a security certificate to encrypt
data during transmission, but its certificate expired on 7/11/2001 5:03 pm."
"You should check to make sure that your computer's time ... is correct."
"Would you like to continue anyway?"

I then clicked on the "View Certificate" button, and the following
pop-up window appeared:

"Certificate Viewer: "gazeboguys.com" <-- in the Title Bar> ... and the
window's text had two tabs for pages with the following info:

"General" <-- Tab>
"Could not verify this certificate because it has expired."
"Issued to
         Common Name (CN) gazeboguys.com
         Organization (O) The Gazebo Guys
         Organizational Unit (OU) Northwest
         Serial Number 01:24:20
"Issued by
         Common Name (CN) Thawte Server CA
         Organization (O) Thawte Consulting cc
         Organizational Unit <not part of certificate>"
         Issued on 6/27/2000
         Expires on 7/11/2001
         SHA1 Fingerprint
         MD5 Fingerprint

"Details" <-- Tab>
Certificate Hierarchy
         Thawte Server CA

Certificate Fields
                         Serial Number
                         Certificate Signature Algorithm
                                 Not before
                                 Not after
                         Subject Public Key Info
                                 Subject Public Key Algorithm
                                 Subject's Public Key
                                 Object Identifier (2 5 29 37 )
                                 Object Identifier (2 5 29 19 )
                 Certificate Signature Algorithm
                 Certificate Signature Value"

After viewing the Certificate, I clicked "OK" and this was the next
pop-up window:

"Security Error: Domain Name Mismatch" <-- in the Title Bar> and the
window said:
"You have attempted to establish a connection with "www.velek.com".
  However, the security certificate presented belongs to
"gazeboguys.com". It is possible, though unlikely, that someone may be
trying to intercept your communication with this web site."
"If you suspect the certificate shown does not belong to
"www.velek.com", please cancel this connection and notify the site

Then I clicked "OK" and a web-site appeared that is entirely different
than mine, but still appears to use "velek.com".

Any help will be appreciated.


Bill Velek