Re: eBay confirms apparent phishing email as valid
From: Alec McKenzie (mckenzie_at_despammed.com)
Date: 03/17/05
- Next message: Temprock_at_hotmail.com: "Don't Know How to Unravel...."
- Previous message: Moe Trin: "Re: eBay confirms apparent phishing email as valid"
- In reply to: CarlosRivera: "Re: eBay confirms apparent phishing email as valid"
- Next in thread: Moe Trin: "Re: eBay confirms apparent phishing email as valid"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Thu, 17 Mar 2005 18:46:07 +0000
CarlosRivera <CarlosRivera@badnamefornospam.to> wrote:
> www.cba.or.th appears to be a Thailand registered domain name. If you
> go to the URL:
>
> http://www.cba.or.th/
>
> The web page is empty. I think that it is a scam. What kind of
> information did they ask you to update? If it is password, credit card,
> bank account or something similar; I would think that it is almost
> definitely a scam.
>
> Alec McKenzie wrote:
> > Moreover the URL given in order to 're-update' my account is at
> > www.cba.or.th which doesn't look much like a real eBay address.
> >
> > I forwarded the email to the address given by eBay's (real) site
> > for reporting phishing scams (spoof@ebay.com).
> >
> > To my surprise I received a reply from eBay Customer Support
> > saying:
> >
> >
> >>I can confirm that the message you received was an official email
> >>message sent on behalf of eBay.
> >
> >
> > I queried this with eBay Customer Support over four hours ago,
> > but have received no reply so far.
> >
> > In fact I do not even have an account with ebay.com, though I do
> > have one with ebay.co.uk.
> >
> > Any thoughts?
Yes, it certainly was a scam. eBay Customer Support have now
replied to my email, saying (inter alia):
> I appologise for our last response, it was sent in error.
A highly dangerous error, I would think!
-- Alec McKenzie mckenzie@despammed.com
- Next message: Temprock_at_hotmail.com: "Don't Know How to Unravel...."
- Previous message: Moe Trin: "Re: eBay confirms apparent phishing email as valid"
- In reply to: CarlosRivera: "Re: eBay confirms apparent phishing email as valid"
- Next in thread: Moe Trin: "Re: eBay confirms apparent phishing email as valid"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|
|