Re: eBay confirms apparent phishing email as valid

From: Moe Trin (ibuprofin_at_painkiller.example.tld)
Date: 03/17/05

  • Next message: Alec McKenzie: "Re: eBay confirms apparent phishing email as valid"
    Date: Thu, 17 Mar 2005 11:39:57 -0600
    
    

    In article <mckenzie-CB1E3F.18083316032005@news.aaisp.net.uk>,
    Alec McKenzie wrote:

    >Moreover the URL given in order to 're-update' my account is at
    >www.cba.or.th which doesn't look much like a real eBay address.

    [compton ~]$ host www.cba.or.th
    www.cba.or.th has address 203.121.182.136
    [compton ~]$

    A whois query at whois.thnic.net says

    ======
    domain: CBA.OR.TH
    descr: The association's objectives are to promote and support the
                 member companies in relation to chemical business, to bulid up
                 unity and exchange view and option among members and to
                 cooperate with the govement in promoting and developing the
                 chemical business.
    company: Chemical Business Association
    address: 61/14 Thanaplace moo 2,Nakniwas RD., Ladpra
    city: Bangkok
    zcode: 10230
    country: TH
    ======

    while a whois of the IP address returns

    ======
    inetnum: 203.121.182.0 - 203.121.182.255
    netname: PITH-203-121-182-TH
    descr: Pacific Internet (Thailand)
    country: TH
    admin-c: PNO1-AP
    tech-c: PNO1-AP
    remarks: Spam and Security: abuse@pacific.net.th
    remarks: Network Issues : noc@pacific.net.th
    mnt-by: PIL-NOC-AP
    changed: operations@pacific.net.sg 20031006
    status: ASSIGNED NON-PORTABLE
    source: APNIC
    ======

    Pacific Internet has been moaning on news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting
    recently, about being blackholed. I can't possibly imagine why.

    >In fact I do not even have an account with ebay.com, though I do
    >have one with ebay.co.uk.

    Rather amazing, I would say. ;-)

            Old guy


  • Next message: Alec McKenzie: "Re: eBay confirms apparent phishing email as valid"