Re: Fault with some Thawte certificates

From: Alun Jones [MS MVP] (alun_at_texis.com)
Date: 06/24/03


Date: Tue, 24 Jun 2003 17:04:48 GMT

In article <3ef86d57$0$56598$bed64819@pubnews.gradwell.net>, "Robin"
<Robin@spongle.uk> wrote:
>http://www.instantssl.com/ssl-certificate-news/ssl-230603.html

Hmm... let's see... instantssl.com takes you to a site that's full of
details of "Comodo Group". Robin posts from NNTP-posting-host 81.2.119.210,
and a quick check with nslookup reveals:

C:\>nslookup 81.2.119.210
Server: ns.texis.com
Address: 192.168.0.1

Name: brad-fw1.comodogroup.com
Address: 81.2.119.210

Now, why on earth would anyone want to trust the word of a company that goes
through such a deceitful means of publicising their press releases? You
know, I might have been pleased to read this posting, if you'd stated up
front that you are an employee of the company, forwarding a link to a
press-release that you felt was of general interest, but when you hide
behind a shield of anonymity (and forget to hide the obvious), you make it
look like you have something more sinister to hide.

Alun.
~~~~