"Best Buy Fraud" email scam

From: NetItRight - Evan (e#v!a_n?f_at_n~e^t&i*t(r)i!g{h}t.com)
Date: 06/19/03


Date: Thu, 19 Jun 2003 10:21:06 -0500

Has anyone gotten an email similar to the one below. The email, and landing
page are extremely convincing.:

<<<<EMAIL>>>>

Dear customer,

Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card
information.
This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/17/2003.
Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need
you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can
confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct
information.
This e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.

Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the
cause of the problem.
http://www.BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html

=====================================================================
ORDER# 1095619 - STATUS: SUSPENDED

ITEMS PURCHASED
=====================================================================
Item No: 73890
CDA-9815 In-Dash CD Player/Ai-Changer Controller
Price: $387.65 Qty: 2 Total: $775.3
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------
The order listed above has not yet been processed.
The reason for the delay in processing your order is:

- UNVERIFIED SHIPPING ADDRESS

- Information provided:
Shipping
41 WINHAM ST
Staten Island, NY 10306
United States
phone# 206-337-9843

In our effort to deter fraudulent transactions, we need your help in
providing us with the correct information. Your prompt response is needed to
avoid any unauthorized charges to your credit card.
=====================================================================
Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the
cause of the problem.
http://www.BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html

<<<<END EMAIL>>>>

The scam is simple, but I think could be very effective. Yesterday I got
this email. The link wasn't to BestBuy.com, but to
http://www.digitalgamma.com/fraud.html. When you go to the link, you are on
a page that looks exactly like the BestBuy site, and asks for information to
prove that you either approve (yeah, right!) or disapprove the transaction
mentioned. I didn't proceed any further than the landing page because I was
sure to be asked for personal information. I haven't seen this one in
particular, but I would suspect that there were/are a lot of people falling
for this. Another associate of mine got the same email overnight that went
to somewhere like instantcredit.com. Being that I personally know two
people who have gotten the email, I suspect it's probably pretty widespread
now. i couldn't find anything in any Google searches related, but I coulda
missed something.

This is all just FYI.
A man tryin' to make a contribution.


Quantcast