Re: 10.0.1.* alias blackhole-1.iana.org alias 192.175.48.6 ???
From: jx (jx_at_noplace.com)
Date: 05/24/03
- Next message: Alun Jones [MS MVP]: "Re: newsgroup security?"
- Previous message: Walter Roberson: "Re: newsgroup security?"
- In reply to: Alan J. Flavell: "Re: 10.0.1.* alias blackhole-1.iana.org alias 192.175.48.6 ???"
- Next in thread: Barry Margolin: "Re: 10.0.1.* alias blackhole-1.iana.org alias 192.175.48.6 ???"
- Reply: Barry Margolin: "Re: 10.0.1.* alias blackhole-1.iana.org alias 192.175.48.6 ???"
- Reply: DaveK: "Re: 10.0.1.* alias blackhole-1.iana.org alias 192.175.48.6 ???"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: 24 May 2003 10:59:49 GMT
>>It's not clear (to me, anyway) whether the original poster was trying
>>to trace to an address on network 10.0.0.0, or to this 192.175.48.6
>>address that he mentioned. Certainly from any network that I'm
>>familiar with, trying to trace to a 10.0.0.0 address would not get
>>very far at all
actually, what I was trying to do was identify the origional
common source so I could filter it out. This would also, I
hope, provide a starting point to report to my ISP. It appears to me
that the 10.0.* ip's are the origional senders, but I
could be wrong. I'm no expert in header interpretation. I'm
trying to pick this stuff up as I go along.
All the 10.0.* ip's traced to blackhole which traced to
192.175.48.6
A full set of headers follows. lifesaversdirect.com is frequently
replaced by:
bstnt.com (10.0.1.12)
amazdir.com (10.0.0.11)
Should the 10.0.* ip be filtered? or the lifesavers/bstnt/amazdir?
***********************************************************
Return-Path:
<OFHPNMZV@lifesaversdirect.com>
Received:
from mtiwgwc20.worldnet.att.net ([127.0.0.1]) by
mtiwgwc20.worldnet.att.net (InterMail
vM.5.01.05.12 201-253-122-126-112-20020820) with ESMTP id
<20030523093650.PTZF15181.mtiwgwc20.worldnet.att.net@mtiwgwc20.worldnet.att.net
> for
<xxxxxx@worldnet.att.net>; Fri, 23 May 2003 09:36:50 +0000
Received:
from l185.lifesaversdirect.com (unknown[63.215.88.185]) by
mtiwgwc20.worldnet.att.net
(mtiwgwc20) with SMTP id <2003052309363802000g22r8e>; Fri, 23
May 2003 09:36:48
+0000
Received:
from lifesaversdirect.com (10.0.1.161) by
l185.lifesaversdirect.com with QMQP; 23 May 2003
02:15:46 -0800
***********************************************************
- Next message: Alun Jones [MS MVP]: "Re: newsgroup security?"
- Previous message: Walter Roberson: "Re: newsgroup security?"
- In reply to: Alan J. Flavell: "Re: 10.0.1.* alias blackhole-1.iana.org alias 192.175.48.6 ???"
- Next in thread: Barry Margolin: "Re: 10.0.1.* alias blackhole-1.iana.org alias 192.175.48.6 ???"
- Reply: Barry Margolin: "Re: 10.0.1.* alias blackhole-1.iana.org alias 192.175.48.6 ???"
- Reply: DaveK: "Re: 10.0.1.* alias blackhole-1.iana.org alias 192.175.48.6 ???"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]