Re: false portscan alarm
- From: "GEO" Me@xxxxxxxxx
- Date: Wed, 18 Oct 2006 13:47:10 GMT
On Wed, 18 Oct 2006 08:41:04 +0100, "Spack" <news@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
wrote:
On Tue, 17 Oct 2006 13:23:40 +0200, mikahan wrote:
I receive regulary notification from my personall firewall about port
scanning make by www.microsoft.com. This is the information from my log
2006-09-12 09:20 port scan from 207.46.18.30 TCP (1700, 1730, 1734,
1733, 1168, 1165)
207.46.18.30 is wwwbaytest5.microsoft.com
Which is just one of a large cluster of servers running www.microsoft.com.
Does it mean taha microsoft try to hack me ? :-)
What is the reason of that treffic ?
Looking up those ports at
http://isc.sans.org/port_details.php?port=1730 (example)
would seem to indicate wwwbaytest5.microsoft.com has some malware
hunting for more exploitable systems.
Or those packets are simply responses to connections initiated from the user
end and closed prematurely. For instance, the user opened a browser to
www.microsoft.com, and it took a while for the MS server to respond, and the
browser and/or the "personal firewall" had decided to close those ports
prematurely. Each of those "port scans" could be a response to a request for
various files used by a web page - images, scripts, etc - which each have a
local source port above 1024 opened outgoing to port 80 on the web server,
so the response data will come back to those source ports.
This is just the usual sort of completely harmless and normal activity that
these so called "personal firewalls" like to warn people about when there is
absolutely no reason to. It breeds fear in the computer illiterate,
encouraging them to spend money on more "personal security" products, which
is probably one of the reasons that these "personal firewalls" spew this
rubbish.
I would disagree with your explanation since I have no firewall, and
don't connect to MS, and yesterday I was receiving UDP packets from
the same range of addresses ( 207.46.18.xx). Today I have received UDP
packets from 204.16.208.74.
Either the explanation that ' wwwbaytest5.microsoft.com has some
malware hunting for more exploitable systems' is correct, or they have
managed to spoof the IP address.
Geo
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: false portscan alarm
- From: Moe Trin
- Re: false portscan alarm
- From: Spack
- Re: false portscan alarm
- From: Spack
- Re: false portscan alarm
- References:
- false portscan alarm
- From: mikahan
- Re: false portscan alarm
- From: Bit Twister
- Re: false portscan alarm
- From: Spack
- false portscan alarm
- Prev by Date: Re: Skype
- Next by Date: Re: Firewalls and Cryptography
- Previous by thread: Re: false portscan alarm
- Next by thread: Re: false portscan alarm
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|