Re: Ad servers (was Re: signs of spyware? on my firewall (sonicwall) log)
From: David (davidwnh@adelphia.net)Date: 10/30/02
- Next message: David: "Re: ZoneAlarm v3.1.395"
- Previous message: David: "Re: ZA Conceptual Question"
- In reply to: Miara Transportation: "Ad servers (was Re: signs of spyware? on my firewall (sonicwall) log)"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
From: "David" <davidwnh@adelphia.net> Date: Wed, 30 Oct 2002 03:42:01 GMT
Many of the adservers will not take the standard request for a default web
page. They are filtered to look for specific Get requests that tell them how
to serve up your ads. I suspect adfarm...... and servedby........ would be
good candidates to filter. The other two you might want to do a query on
samspade.org to see who registered those domain names. If you see something
like art.digitalcity.com go visit www.digitalcity.com. That may give you a
better idea of what it is.If you get an ad agency they might be worthy of
filtering. art.digitalcity.com though might be a server that downloads
graphics for www.digitalcity.com which may be a worthy site. 5 mins of
investigation time will usually determine these things. Hint Hint ;)
Just be careful that you don't filter servers/domains with desired content.
Not that I hate the ad companies :)....but my pages do load faster without
them.
"Miara Transportation" <Anon@mous.com> wrote in message
news:epntrucjpmdeati3jgeiovqfa2jf8hhnh6@4ax.com...
> Once Upon A Time,
> In article <41Gu9.2903$Zx.539273@news1.news.adelphia.net>
> David wrote:
>
> >spd.atdmt.com and view.atdmt.com are advertising servers.
>
> What about ar.atwola.com, art.digitalcity.com, adfarm.mediaplex.com
> and servedby.advertising.com? My web site hit report shows these to
> be very high on the list, but when I go to those addresses I get a
> message that says "Nothing to see here" or a 404 error. Can these
> also be ad servers that are getting hit by users on the network who
> are surfing msn.com and aol.com and others that serve up ads? Would
> it be safe to add these domains to the "forbidden domains" list on my
> SOHO3? Would this reduce the number of banners and popups my users
> would encounter?
>
- Next message: David: "Re: ZoneAlarm v3.1.395"
- Previous message: David: "Re: ZA Conceptual Question"
- In reply to: Miara Transportation: "Ad servers (was Re: signs of spyware? on my firewall (sonicwall) log)"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|