Re: Domain name strangeness

From: /dev/rob0 (rob0_at_gmx.co.uk)
Date: 08/17/03


Date: Sun, 17 Aug 2003 14:48:17 -0700

In article <slrnbjvrg6.cdk.klausman-un06122002@eric.schwarzvogel.de>,
  Tobias Klausmann wrote:
> /dev/rob0 <rob0@gmx.co.uk> wrote:
>>> Mozilla Firebird is 0.6.1. The problem does not occur with the
>>> same network connection in Windows (my original suspicion was
>>> my service
>>
>> Check the Windows TCP/IP settings for nameservers and search
>> domains.
>
> I believe he wrote that his Windows installation isn't affected.

Yes he did, and I read it, as you can see in the text quoted above. I
want to know what TCP/IP settings the Windows install is using to help
understand what is happening.

>> complaint: they are exploiting the advertising potential in
>> DNS. It would also be a good reason to set up your own caching
>> nameserver to bypass the ISP.
>
> Even if they don't redirect his DNS queries in this case, it
> would be the next logical step for them.

Good point. They could close off outbound DNS queries. If they do that,
this is definitely not a company from which I would seek service.

On further thought, I'm thinking this was more likely the act of the
Mozilla install, or something similar having been done as root. The OP
should do a "whois" search on the wildcarded domain and look for
possible connections to the ISP.

-- 
  /dev/rob0 - preferred_email=i$((28*28+28))@softhome.net
  or put "not-spam" or "/dev/rob0" in Subject header to reply

Quantcast