Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: "John D" <John_D@Ican playgames.too>
- Date: Thu, 15 Jan 2009 09:32:34 -0000
I'll be back later Guy - one query in line:
"Guy Macon" <http://www.GuyMacon.com/> wrote in message
news:nvydnbDU9vQxufPU4p2dnAA@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
John D wrote:
Today , from another source ('ask Leo') I've again been directed to
'Uniblue' - here:
http://www1.uniblue.com/products/campaigns/ppc/rb/google/uk/stl/process-library/ask-leo/
Do you know anything about this organisation? Are they Genuine? Is it
some sort of 'con'?
John D wrote:
I've spent quite a while exploring the links you gave me - loads of
very
interesting 'stuff' (I hate that word!!)
Today , from another source ('ask Leo') I've again been directed to
'Uniblue' - here:
http://www1.uniblue.com/products/campaigns/ppc/rb/google/uk/stl/process-library/ask-leo/
Do you know anything about this organisation? Are they Genuine? Is it
some sort of 'con'?
I really appreciate your help and guidance. Thank you.
I have never run accross uniblue.com before. Just for fun, let me
detail how I investiate something like this.
I started investigating here:
http://www.google.com/search?uniblue.com
http://www.google.com/search?uniblue.com+review
http://www.google.com/search?uniblue.com+scam
*Each* of these links takes ME to *this* URL
http://www.google.com/webhp
I'm wondering why that should be!?!
The internet being what it is, I expect any product to have someoneclaiming that it is a scam, but it has been my experience that real
scams result in warnings from well-known legitimate sources. In this
case I saw in the results of my search these pages:
http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?name=uniblue.com
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/uniblue.com/summary/
OK. I know that it isn't a scam. BTW, you were right to be suspicious;
lots of scams/malware pretend to be antivirus/security/cleanup
utilities.
I also found this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductReview.aspx?Item=N82E1681447939SF
Newegg is one of my favorite sites, and often has good info in the
reviews. This is a related product, but still an interesting read.
I wouldn't buy it though; CCleaner is free and does everything I need
in the area of registry cleanup.
OK, so it's not a scam. Now I need to ask, is the free scan actually
useful? Many times a "free scan" results in a page that says that
there are errors that you need to buy a product to fix.
So, being a brave person (who has a good backup plan and can restore
everything easily -- and who has tested the restore capability), I
decided to try it.
http://www.uniblue.com/ redirected me to http://www.liutilities.com/
where I found this: http://www.liutilities.com/products/freescans/
...none of which have the same filename as what is at the URL you
posted:
http://www1.uniblue.com/products/campaigns/ppc/rb/google/uk/stl/process-library/ask-leo/
http://download.uniblue.com/adv/ppc/rb/registryboosterppcg14.exe
Hmmm. Something special for "Ask Leo" (whoever that is)? back to
Google...
http://www.google.com/search?uniblue+%22ask+leo%22
which led me to...
http://ask-leo.com/whats_the_best_registry_cleaner.html
Interesting site!
OK, I will try the registryboosterppcg14.exe version.
First I downloaded it and scanned it using this tool:
http://www.kaspersky.com/scanforvirus
Drat! "The size of a file exceeds 1024 Kb."
OK, I will use the free online scanner and have it
scan just the one file.
http://usa.kaspersky.com/products_services/free-virus-scanner.php
(Microsoft Internet Explorer Only)
While it is updating the data base, I will submit the file here:
http://www.virustotal.com/
OK, looks clean of viruses and malware.
Now to run it...
On the system I am on at the moment (Windows 2000 advanced server on
a quad pentium pro server) it started to install and then silently
exited without doing anything or giving any error message. That's
enough for me to conclude that I don't like it. It seems safe enough,
so you might want to try it and report the results here.
--
Guy Macon
<http://www.GuyMacon.com/>
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: Guy Macon
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- References:
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: John D
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: David H. Lipman
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: John D
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: Guy Macon
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: John D
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: Guy Macon
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- Prev by Date: Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- Next by Date: Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- Previous by thread: Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- Next by thread: Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|