Re: Can one determine from this Header .....




"David H. Lipman" <DLipman~nospam~@Verizon.Net> wrote in message
news:-radnVwZJYcoavTUnZ2dnUVZ_g2dnZ2d@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
From: "John D" <John_D@Ican playgames.too>

| See below please

| "David H. Lipman" <DLipman~nospam~@Verizon.Net> wrote in message
| news:R5GdnS32V66pV_XUnZ2dnUVZ_o7inZ2d@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
From: "John D" <John_D@Ican playgames.too>

| Thanks for your reply, Guy. I've got the message!

| Interesting CV, btw. FYI, there's a 'typo' in the second
paragraph:
"
| HARDWARE DESIGN; **Mt** engineering experience ..... "

| You say "have also made it my business to be an expert on viruses,
| malware and antispam measures". A friend of mine thinks he might
have a
| Rootkit and both he and I have played around with HiJackThis on
his
| computer (without really knowing what we're doing!). We knows
there
are
| lots of 'help' sites on-line but as I'm here I thought I'd ask if
you
| have a favourite forum you could recommend. Thanks.

| John


http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/index.php?board=3.0


--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
Multi-AV - http://www.pctipp.ch/downloads/dl/35905.asp




| I'd hoped that Guy would respond, but thanks anyway.

| I went to that site and explored a bit.

| If I scroll down, towards the bottom of the page, on the RHS, is a
'box'
| marked 'Backups'.

| In the second paragraph it says "We are working with .... (link)
| Backupanswers.com That link takes *me* to a page saying HTTP
Error
| 404 - File or directory not found. A dead link?

| Where does it take you? (I'd appreciate an answer!)

| I also noticed that when I hover over that link, at the bottom of my
| screen I see this:-

| http://regnow.com/softsell/visitor.cgi?affiliate = 37989&...

| --

| A little below that is another 'box' entitled WinBackup. If I click
in
| that box I'm taken here:
| http://www.liutilities.com/products/campaigns/affiliate/general/rb/

| ........ to:- Uniblue Registry Booster offering a "Free System
Scan".

| I didn't press the large green "Instant Scan" button!

| What does that have to do with 'WinBackup'?

| Hovering over the WinBackup 'box' I see this:

| http://regnow.com/softsell/visitor.cgi?affiliate = 37989&action...
(note
| extra word - action!)

| If I go directly to http://www.liutilities.com/products/freescans/
a
| range of free scans is available, but nowhere do I see the exact
same
| page as in the link above. I'm now wondering if it is a spoof site.

| You will appreciate that I can only tell you what I can see here on
my
| machine(s). Perhaps you too will explore these pages and tell me
what
| you find. I do understand that it might be my computers which have a
| problem.

| I also noticed that when I hover over that link, at the bottom of my
| screen I see this:-

| http://regnow.com/softsell/visitor.cgi?affiliate = 37989&...

| Something doesn't seem quite right. Could it be my computers at
fault or
| can anyone else here see the same things?

| Thanks

| John

The objective is to register and create a thread.

Have you done that or not ?


--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
Multi-AV - http://www.pctipp.ch/downloads/dl/35905.asp



No, not yet. I've said I'm suspicious of the site.

I don't know who you are or why you have recommended a specific site
which seems to have misleading links.

I'll wait a while and see if anyone else sees the same errors.

Can you tell me why you think this site is the best one for my friend to
use?

Thank you

John


.


Loading