Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: "John D" <John_D@Ican playgames.too>
- Date: Sun, 11 Jan 2009 13:36:12 -0000
See below please
"David H. Lipman" <DLipman~nospam~@Verizon.Net> wrote in message
news:R5GdnS32V66pV_XUnZ2dnUVZ_o7inZ2d@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
From: "John D" <John_D@Ican playgames.too>
| Thanks for your reply, Guy. I've got the message!
| Interesting CV, btw. FYI, there's a 'typo' in the second paragraph:
"
| HARDWARE DESIGN; **Mt** engineering experience ..... "
| You say "have also made it my business to be an expert on viruses,
| malware and antispam measures". A friend of mine thinks he might
have a
| Rootkit and both he and I have played around with HiJackThis on his
| computer (without really knowing what we're doing!). We knows there
are
| lots of 'help' sites on-line but as I'm here I thought I'd ask if
you
| have a favourite forum you could recommend. Thanks.
| John
http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/index.php?board=3.0
--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
Multi-AV - http://www.pctipp.ch/downloads/dl/35905.asp
I'd hoped that Guy would respond, but thanks anyway.
I went to that site and explored a bit.
If I scroll down, towards the bottom of the page, on the RHS, is a 'box'
marked 'Backups'.
In the second paragraph it says "We are working with .... (link)
Backupanswers.com That link takes *me* to a page saying HTTP Error
404 - File or directory not found. A dead link?
Where does it take you? (I'd appreciate an answer!)
I also noticed that when I hover over that link, at the bottom of my
screen I see this:-
http://regnow.com/softsell/visitor.cgi?affiliate = 37989&...
--
A little below that is another 'box' entitled WinBackup. If I click in
that box I'm taken here:
http://www.liutilities.com/products/campaigns/affiliate/general/rb/
........ to:- Uniblue Registry Booster offering a "Free System Scan".
I didn't press the large green "Instant Scan" button!
What does that have to do with 'WinBackup'?
Hovering over the WinBackup 'box' I see this:
http://regnow.com/softsell/visitor.cgi?affiliate = 37989&action... (note
extra word - action!)
If I go directly to http://www.liutilities.com/products/freescans/ a
range of free scans is available, but nowhere do I see the exact same
page as in the link above. I'm now wondering if it is a spoof site.
You will appreciate that I can only tell you what I can see here on my
machine(s). Perhaps you too will explore these pages and tell me what
you find. I do understand that it might be my computers which have a
problem.
I also noticed that when I hover over that link, at the bottom of my
screen I see this:-
http://regnow.com/softsell/visitor.cgi?affiliate = 37989&...
Something doesn't seem quite right. Could it be my computers at fault or
can anyone else here see the same things?
Thanks
John
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: Guy Macon
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: David H. Lipman
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- References:
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: John D
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- From: David H. Lipman
- Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- Prev by Date: Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- Next by Date: Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- Previous by thread: Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- Next by thread: Re: Can one determine from this Header .....
- Index(es):