Re: Virus origin
From: Travis Casey (efindel_at_earthlink.net)
Date: 11/21/04
- Next message: Miguel Cruz: "Re: Virus origin"
- Previous message: Jem Berkes: "Re: Virus origin"
- In reply to: srm: "Virus origin"
- Next in thread: Miguel Cruz: "Re: Virus origin"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Sun, 21 Nov 2004 17:41:13 GMT
srm wrote:
> I've installed Amavis/AntiVir on my Linux system and this seems to be
> doing a good job of intercepting nasties. But I have a question about the
> information supplied by these packages.
>
> I know that malware programs typically spoof the 'From' header, so I'm
> ignoring that. However, I'm intrigued by the 'Received:' headers. Amavis
> highlights the earliest 'Received:' header in the chain. Here's an
> example:
>
> According to the 'Received:' trace, the message originated at:
> host217-42-163-55.range217-42.btcentralplus.com ([217.42.163.55]
> helo=frenchentree.com)
"Received:" headers are faked by many spammers and viruses. I generally
only trust the "Received:" headers from my own boxes, and there, only trust
the IP given, not the "HELO" information.
> Now, that 'helo=frenchentree.com' interests me. That's a site for which my
> wife (to whom all these virus-bearing messages were addressed) has just
> started working. We've had a bunch of these and there are other
> indications that the guy she's working for might actually be the source of
> the malware.
The IP given is in the UK. You can look it up at www.ripe.net -- if you do,
you'll get the name of the ISP it belongs to. If it's the same ISP that
frenchentree.com gets their service from, then it's much more plausible.
Doing a ping on www.frenchentree.com gives 217.199.167.27 as the IP. That
doesn't appear to belong to the same ISP, but it's possible that they use a
web hosting service, of course, so that's not conclusive.
> So, the question is, do malware programs also somehow spoof the HELO? Or
> is this actual proof that the malware originated from the frenchentree.com
> domain? I need to know before I give the guy a bollocking and tell him to
> sort out his system.
This in itself isn't proof, but it still looks plausible.
--
ZZzz |\ _,,,---,,_ Travis S. Casey <efindel@earthlink.net>
/,`.-'`' -. ;-;;,_ No one agrees with me. Not even me.
|,4- ) )-,_..;\ ( `'-'
'---''(_/--' `-'\_)
- Next message: Miguel Cruz: "Re: Virus origin"
- Previous message: Jem Berkes: "Re: Virus origin"
- In reply to: srm: "Virus origin"
- Next in thread: Miguel Cruz: "Re: Virus origin"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|
|