Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus
From: Bill Unruh (unruh_at_string.physics.ubc.ca)
Date: 06/27/04
- Next message: Nick: "Re: spam or infection?"
- Previous message: Zarggg: "Re: Leythos"
- In reply to: jason: "Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Sun, 27 Jun 2004 17:13:08 +0000 (UTC)
]> "Tim Murray" <no-spam@thankyou.com> wrote in message
]> news:0001HW.BD0302320002118EF02845B0@newsgroups.bellsouth.net...
]> > I got a very poorly worded, all-caps e-mail saying it was Symantec and
]> that I
]> > should promptly go to <http://www.symantec.ar.nu/>. I have a computer
]> that
That was not actually a symantec site, nor is the site to which they point
you with the "cleaner".
www.symantec.ar.nu=65.108.204.171
whois 65.108.204.171
OrgName: Alabanza, Inc.
OrgID: ALAB
Address: 10 East Baltimore St., 10th floor
City: Baltimore
StateProv: MD
PostalCode: 21202
Country: US
--------------------
ping www.nikroot.com
PING premium.geo.yahoo.akadns.net (66.218.79.189) 56(84) bytes of data.
]> > is both a Mac and sacrificial, so I went to take a look.
]> >
]> > On the top of the initial page is a notice in red that "you have a
]virus",
]> > and do download some .exe file. I downloaded it, tested it, and of
]course,
]> it
]> > had a virus.
]> >
]> > The site is, generally, of utter professionalism ... it looks like they
]> > simply downloaded all of Symantec's real site.
]> >
]> > But this is not really the point of the story. The point is that was
]> three
]> > days ago, and I've contact Symantec three times about it, figuring I'd
]at
]> > least get a "thanks-for-letting-us-know" reply. But I've received no
]> reply,
]> > and the site is still up (I really thought Symantec would be powerful
]> enough
]> > to get it shut down pronto).
Yes. It looks like yahoo is falling down in their responsibility.
]> >
- Next message: Nick: "Re: spam or infection?"
- Previous message: Zarggg: "Re: Leythos"
- In reply to: jason: "Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|