Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus
From: jason (jas_at_kto.net)
Date: 06/27/04
- Next message: news: "Re: trojans"
- Previous message: jason: "Re: trojans"
- In reply to: Bullwinkel J. Moose: "Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Next in thread: Bill Unruh: "Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Reply: Bill Unruh: "Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Sun, 27 Jun 2004 11:26:38 +0100
Hello,
Well I always wondered who wrote antivirus software!
It would make sense for a company knocking out antivirus programs to
introduce mass panic, or the need to keep selling updates.
"Bullwinkel J. Moose" <quincey.nyc@verizon.net> wrote in message
news:dEjDc.7884$Xn.3872@nwrdny03.gnilink.net...
> You got no answer because symantec does not read messages to them. There
are
> a number of sites which give you a virus for which you need to buy their
AV
> product.
>
> Beware.
>
> --
> Regards,
> Werner
> quincey.nyc@nospam.verizon.net
> Remove "Nospam" when e-mailing
> "Tim Murray" <no-spam@thankyou.com> wrote in message
> news:0001HW.BD0302320002118EF02845B0@newsgroups.bellsouth.net...
> > I got a very poorly worded, all-caps e-mail saying it was Symantec and
> that I
> > should promptly go to <http://www.symantec.ar.nu/>. I have a computer
> that
> > is both a Mac and sacrificial, so I went to take a look.
> >
> > On the top of the initial page is a notice in red that "you have a
virus",
> > and do download some .exe file. I downloaded it, tested it, and of
course,
> it
> > had a virus.
> >
> > The site is, generally, of utter professionalism ... it looks like they
> > simply downloaded all of Symantec's real site.
> >
> > But this is not really the point of the story. The point is that was
> three
> > days ago, and I've contact Symantec three times about it, figuring I'd
at
> > least get a "thanks-for-letting-us-know" reply. But I've received no
> reply,
> > and the site is still up (I really thought Symantec would be powerful
> enough
> > to get it shut down pronto).
> >
>
>
--- Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free. Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com). Version: 6.0.711 / Virus Database: 467 - Release Date: 25/06/2004
- Next message: news: "Re: trojans"
- Previous message: jason: "Re: trojans"
- In reply to: Bullwinkel J. Moose: "Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Next in thread: Bill Unruh: "Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Reply: Bill Unruh: "Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|