Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus
From: Bullwinkel J. Moose (quincey.nyc_at_verizon.net)
Date: 06/26/04
- Next message: Gary Whittle: "New computer, which security software?"
- Previous message: Colonel Flagg: "Re: 2 OS?"
- In reply to: Tim Murray: "A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Next in thread: jason: "Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Reply: jason: "Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Sat, 26 Jun 2004 18:55:05 GMT
You got no answer because symantec does not read messages to them. There are
a number of sites which give you a virus for which you need to buy their AV
product.
Beware.
-- Regards, Werner quincey.nyc@nospam.verizon.net Remove "Nospam" when e-mailing "Tim Murray" <no-spam@thankyou.com> wrote in message news:0001HW.BD0302320002118EF02845B0@newsgroups.bellsouth.net... > I got a very poorly worded, all-caps e-mail saying it was Symantec and that I > should promptly go to <http://www.symantec.ar.nu/>. I have a computer that > is both a Mac and sacrificial, so I went to take a look. > > On the top of the initial page is a notice in red that "you have a virus", > and do download some .exe file. I downloaded it, tested it, and of course, it > had a virus. > > The site is, generally, of utter professionalism ... it looks like they > simply downloaded all of Symantec's real site. > > But this is not really the point of the story. The point is that was three > days ago, and I've contact Symantec three times about it, figuring I'd at > least get a "thanks-for-letting-us-know" reply. But I've received no reply, > and the site is still up (I really thought Symantec would be powerful enough > to get it shut down pronto). >
- Next message: Gary Whittle: "New computer, which security software?"
- Previous message: Colonel Flagg: "Re: 2 OS?"
- In reply to: Tim Murray: "A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Next in thread: jason: "Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Reply: jason: "Re: A fake but good-looking Symantec site, with virus"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|