RE: What does this mean?
From: Bénoni MARTIN (Benoni.MARTIN_at_libertis.ga)
Date: 04/26/04
- Previous message: Bryan Ware: "Re: What does this mean?"
- Maybe in reply to: Adnan Ali: "What does this mean?"
- Next in thread: Adnan Ali: "RE: What does this mean?"
- Reply: Adnan Ali: "RE: What does this mean?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Mon, 26 Apr 2004 18:24:55 +0100 To: "Adnan Ali" <call_ret@yahoo.com>, <security-basics@securityfocus.com>
Hi!
Well, when you are running an application (for instance Apache), you can bind this app. to a port and/or an address. In your case, the IP address "0.0.0.0" means all addresses, i.e. if you have 2 NIC, your app. will be replying to requests coming on the 2 NICs. If you had "10.0.0.1" instead of 0.0.0.0, then just requests to 10.0.0.1 will be treated!
For the ports, well just see in " C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\services " !!
To see the match with the applications, just download fport (I think it should be that), or tcpview (I am sure of this one, better for me than the former).
-----Message d'origine-----
De : Adnan Ali [mailto:call_ret@yahoo.com]
Envoyé : lundi 26 avril 2004 13:59
À : security-basics@securityfocus.com
Objet : What does this mean?
Hello all,
I have a simple question and I hope to get an answer
from the experts on this list.
I have a PC running Windows 2000 Prof, and when I do
a netstat -an, I get the following:
Active Connections:
Proto Local Addr Foreign Addr State
============================================
TCP 0.0.0.0:135 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
TCP 0.0.0.0:445 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
TCP 0.0.0.0:1026 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
TCP 0.0.0.0:1027 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
UDP 0.0.0.0:135 *:*
UDP 0.0.0.0:445 *:*
UDP 0.0.0.0:1025 *:*
UDP 0.0.0.0:38037 *:*
UDP 172.20.4.76:500 *:*
I get this output even when I am running no network
application on the machine.
Of course, this all seems quite suspicious.
Can somebody please help me figure out what is going
on? At least find the respective applications
listening
on various ports.??
Thanks and best regards,
__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Photos: High-quality 4x6 digital prints for 25¢
http://photos.yahoo.com/ph/print_splash
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ethical Hacking at the InfoSec Institute. Mention this ad and get $545 off
any course! All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 10 students or less
to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors.
Attend a course taught by an expert instructor with years of in-the-field
pen testing experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Master the skills
of an Ethical Hacker to better assess the security of your organization.
Visit us at:
http://www.infosecinstitute.com/courses/ethical_hacking_training.html
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ethical Hacking at the InfoSec Institute. Mention this ad and get $545 off
any course! All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 10 students or less
to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors.
Attend a course taught by an expert instructor with years of in-the-field
pen testing experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Master the skills
of an Ethical Hacker to better assess the security of your organization.
Visit us at:
http://www.infosecinstitute.com/courses/ethical_hacking_training.html
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
- Previous message: Bryan Ware: "Re: What does this mean?"
- Maybe in reply to: Adnan Ali: "What does this mean?"
- Next in thread: Adnan Ali: "RE: What does this mean?"
- Reply: Adnan Ali: "RE: What does this mean?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|